We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT MAKE RESERVATIONS WITH KAUAI TRAVEL AUTHORITY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koloa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regency Resorts Condominiums
Reviewed 1 July 2010

As a meeting planner I sent an extended family to Kauai. Everyone had a fabulous time and thoroughly enjoyed their stay. However, the reservations were made through the reservation service of Kauai Travel Authority. The reservation agreement stated that my company would be compensated for making the reservation. Additionally they were overpaid for the resrvation and i am due a refund. The stay was six months ago and i still haven't received my compensation and refund, even after several verbal assurances. Find another way to confirm this property as Kauai Travel Authority is NOT A REPUTABLE company.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
Thank MeetingPlanner245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is a shady company. Do NOT give them your credit card information, do not stay with them. They are full of false promises. Myself and two co-workers had three separate indicents with this company. As a result no one from our company is allowed to stay there anymore.

They owed me $2000 and was promising payment ...for 3 months. After failed "attempts" to credit my credit card, deposit a check (it bounced), and wiring me money, they finally credited my credit card. By this time I had an overdue credit card balance fee, overdraft fee, and a returned check fee that I had to pay out of pocket. They promised to pay these fees yet do not return phone calls and emails that I have sent.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank stikgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We had 8 people in our 2 group (2 families) and we all stayed comfortably in the 4 BR 3bath garden villa. Everything involving this villa, from the travertine floors and granite/stainless steel kitchen, to the manicured floral 2-block walkway to the beach, was gorgeous. The heated pool and waterfall jacuzzi was a one-minute walk away. Also, with prices in Kauai being outrageous for restaurants, we truly appreciated having a fully functional kitchen to make many of our meals, especially with small children. We actually preferred the key-code entry (one less key for us to keep track of!)
The location within Poipu was perfect, in a beautiful neighborhood and short drive to Poipu village, about 20" to the airport, and the price was right (look for specials from Kauai Travel Authority). We were beyond happy with the accomodations and we would recommend the villas to just about anyone wishing to vacation on Kauai.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank temeculamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Don't do it! We booked here after researching many condo's online. We really wanted air conditioning and a clean quiet unit. Our condo was neither one of these. We stayed in a ground floor unit #814 and our friends were in #813. Both units were very noisy, it sounded like the people above were stomping on the floor. I think they were walking normally because our friends reported the same problem in their unit. We complained about the noise to the manager and it didn't help any, no offer to allow us to move to a different unit. When the mirrors on the walls are vibrating from the stomping above in the morning, you don't wake up very happy.

Our unit's carpet was in bad condition. It was ripped and torn and stained, it had 2 burn mark imprints from irons in the bedroom and living area. Our unit did not have a plasma TV or nice furniture. The unit next door did, it was very well appointed and clean, however the noise from above was the same.

I was told that we would be getting a few supplies to start with such as salt and pepper etc. We got a pepper shaker ( picnic kind) and a big salt container with no shaker. You had to pour it in your hand to put it on your food. We soon purchased a salt and pepper shaker. Everything was just done cheaply...even the DISHWASHER LIQUID WAS DILUTED with water! Be prepared to buy everything but laundry detergent. Our friends had better luck with having a supply of sponges and non dilluted dishwashing liquid etc.

The air conditioner was working off and on in both units. We called and our friends called the manager and it was never fixed. Two light bulbs were burned out when we arrived and we search for replacements and could not find any, so we called to ask where they were located. We were told that they were locked up and we would need to wait for maintenance to arrive to replace the bulbs. We waited and no one came. We called again the next day and they had forgot and then sent someone over to replace the bulb.

Make sure if you decide to come here to beware of the noise and I would make sure you do not get #814. The unit next door #813 is much nicer but still way too noisy!

On the bright side Kauai is beautiful and the south side of the island is the best! Don't miss snorkeling at The Beach House beach and mai tai's at Keioke's Paradise and Brunch at the Grand Hyatt. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt last time and it was wonderful but expensive.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank halohaloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Pros:
The condo was absolutely gorgeous. The furniture and the decor were beautiful and the grounds were very well kept. It was extremely spacious and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the second bedroom had a king sized bed and an attached bathroom (we were expecting 2 combined twin beds and a family bath). The bed was very comfortable and the condo had every amenity that we could have asked for. The location was great - we expected the 5-10 minute walk to the ocean.


Cons:
When we arrived that evening at Regency Condos, the code we were given for the electronic keypad did not work. We contacted the property manager, who acted like she assumed we were entering it incorrectly. She gave us a 'master' code and promised to come by the next day to take a look. We later found a piece of paper left by who we assumed to be the previous occupant, and on it was a door code. We tried it and it worked - leading us to assume that Regency never changed the code before our stay.

The condo itself was poorly cleaned before our arrival. In addition to the paper left behind by the previous guest, we also found hair in the "clean" towels and bed linens and there were dirty dishes in the dishwasher. When we called to complain, the property manager apologized but did not offer any compensation. We had to ask for a waiver of the $50 cleaning fee and she did comply. Someone came by the next day to replace the sheets and towels and to wash the dishes - that night, we luckily found an extra set of sheets (the actual clean ones intended for the bed, perhaps?).

I was very nervous about the potential noise from the condo above (we were in a ground-level unit) and was relieved each day that it was unoccupied. Mid-week, some employees came to work on the condo above. It sounded like elephants were going up and down the outside stairs and moving around up there! I could not even imagine enduring that noise all week long!

Overall:
We were disappointed in the careless preparation for our arrival, but very pleased with the condo itself and the high-end amenities it offered. I would only recommend Regency Condos to someone who could be guaranteed an upper unit - I would not want to risk having to endure thunderous noise from above during a stay in paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travelgirl2716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koloa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Resorts Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Resorts Condominiums

Address: 1831 Poipu Rd, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9418
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Koloa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Koloa
Price Range: $365 - $947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Regency Condos are the perfect place for your island adventure or your romantic trip to paradise. The Regency Condos are some of the newest condos on the island and provide the rare luxury of central air. From big screens to beach towels these condos provide all the comforts to live your ultimate Hawaiian vacation. They are located just a five minute walk through the beautiful garden area to a couple of Kauai's great beaches. You will quickly see why Regency Resorts is the ultimate choice among Kauai condo vacation rentals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Regency Resorts Condominiums Hotel Koloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing