We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, local, authentic, really experience the Kauai difference Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had the luxury of staying 14 days. Upon arriving we met Germaine. Germaine was born bred and raised right here on Kauai. She was extremely friendly. She helped us almost daily, her advice was very authentic. The hotel grounds are very lush with tropical foilage everywhere with a large koi fish pond. Our room was very clean and the service was top notch. The ammenities here were great. No parking fees, snorkel gear, boogie boards, tennis rackets, beach mats, towels, coolers, you name it, they have it. Best of all, it is all included in the very reasonable rack rate. Location, location, location. Airport is a 5 minute drive. Half way between Hanalei and Waimea. Costco and Walmart just right up the road. Great restaurants just a nice walk accross the street. Our experience here is a no brainer where we will stay again on Kauai. The Garen Island Inn made our vacation one to remember for a lifetime. Thank you to all of the staff. Joyce, Jan, Germaine, Wayne, and Steve know the meaning of true Aloha!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 613 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel the first night and the last night of our Na Pali adventure... Jan and the rest of the staff is very friendly, they are very close to the airport, the rooms are decent and everybody is very helpful! our backpacks got soaked in the ocean and the owner offered us to use his dryer... we nice! and the following day he hooked us up with his best friend to sail a catamaran the entire morning, in Hanalei! we had a blast!! thank you all! :)

and it's on the way to Wamea Canyon! very central !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here one night on our arrival in Kauai. Very clean and cute mom and pop hotel. Road noise was not a problem for us. Across the road from Nawiliwi Park and the beach. Not a big posh resort, but good stay for the budget minded.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Garden Island Inn. Great central location in Lihue. Staff is very friendly. Room is a great value for the price and cleanliness. Road noise was not an issue for us. Wish we would have stayed longer, and will definitely be back here on our next visit to Kauai!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarheelHRM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have stayed at the Garden Island Inn every time we have visited Kauai and have always loved it. This time we stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very spacious, but all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. The rooms are cheerfully decorated and furnished with Island-style furniture, and there is the original art work of Kauai artist Camile Fontaine on display throughout the hotel. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Kalapaki Beach, the Kauai Marriott Resort, and the Anchor Mall are just across the road. The beautifully designed Duke’s Canoe Club restaurant is also across the street from the Garden Island Inn. The meals and mai tai drinks at Duke’s are good and the Hula Pie is a real treat. Be prepared to share the Hula Pie as it is huge. The Garden Island Inn feels like a home away from home for us. Also, the location is superb as it about equal distance to either end of the road that circles most of Kauai from this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
5.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
10.7 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
59 reviews
14.5 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.3 km away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
9.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $216 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai/Lihue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing