We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$273
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$184
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
659
254
53
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
254
53
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboogie boardsbeach towelsgranola barspumpkin piehand paintedfresh bananassnorkel gearoffice doorgarden islandroad noisesmall hotelbeach itemsclose to the airportcoffee makerwithin walking distanceabc storequeen bed
Filter
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel the first night and the last night of our Na Pali adventure... Jan and the rest of the staff is very friendly, they are very close to the airport, the rooms are decent and everybody is very helpful! our backpacks got soaked in the ocean and the owner offered us to use his dryer... we nice! and the following day he hooked us up with his best friend to sail a catamaran the entire morning, in Hanalei! we had a blast!! thank you all! :)

and it's on the way to Wamea Canyon! very central !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here one night on our arrival in Kauai. Very clean and cute mom and pop hotel. Road noise was not a problem for us. Across the road from Nawiliwi Park and the beach. Not a big posh resort, but good stay for the budget minded.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Garden Island Inn. Great central location in Lihue. Staff is very friendly. Room is a great value for the price and cleanliness. Road noise was not an issue for us. Wish we would have stayed longer, and will definitely be back here on our next visit to Kauai!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarheelHRM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have stayed at the Garden Island Inn every time we have visited Kauai and have always loved it. This time we stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very spacious, but all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. The rooms are cheerfully decorated and furnished with Island-style furniture, and there is the original art work of Kauai artist Camile Fontaine on display throughout the hotel. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Kalapaki Beach, the Kauai Marriott Resort, and the Anchor Mall are just across the road. The beautifully designed Duke’s Canoe Club restaurant is also across the street from the Garden Island Inn. The meals and mai tai drinks at Duke’s are good and the Hula Pie is a real treat. Be prepared to share the Hula Pie as it is huge. The Garden Island Inn feels like a home away from home for us. Also, the location is superb as it about equal distance to either end of the road that circles most of Kauai from this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We just came home from almost a two-week stay at the Garden Island Inn Hotel in Kauai. It was our first trip to Kauai. We wanted a small hotel, not one of the big chain hotels, that was central and had at least a microwave and frig. I was a big concerned because many reviews mentioned traffic noise and I'm the lightest sleeper on the planet, but the people I spoke to when making the reservation and calling back to ask questions were so nice that we decided to stay there. There was a box of chocolate macadamia nuts in the room with a welcome note. When I couldn't sleep on the first night because of traffic noise even with earplugs, we were moved to another room that was fine for the rest of our stay. We really didn't want to have to go elsewhere. Room 14 for those who are willing to give up a large balcony for less noise. The staff, Sheila, Joyce, Germaine, and Jan, are wonderful - knowledgeable, and really, really nice. They were especially helpful, with regards to places to not pass up, they know all of the really great places on the island and the best beaches and what to expect at each of them. Avelina maintained our room, kept the flowers fresh, replenished the coffee for the coffee maker, and was also very, very pleasant. Wayne, a cheerful man who lives on site, taught us how to use the DVD. We didn't need the A/C - the ceiling fan was enough. The hotel provided beach chairs, towels, beach mats, snorkel gear, granola bars, fruit, books, some DVDs, free wifi, and smiles every day. They maintain notebooks of recommendations for restaurants and other things to do. The hotel is centrally located, across from a beach, with easy access to the rest of the island. We went everywhere during our trip, and on a return visit would stay nowhere else.

Laura & Bill

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, let them know and ask for room 14 or one close to the waterfall to subdue the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews