We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
So much fun!!!

What a neat experience - it had everything from excitement (jeep ride), education (learn about... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Young F
,
Atlanta, Georgia
via mobile
So much fun!

Tanji and Fletcher are awesome tour guides and made this so much fun. We tasted rums, had two... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
SMGG22
via mobile
Read all 314 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kauai
from US$183.35
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$129.00
More Info
from US$368.43
More Info
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
307
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
307
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koloa rum rum tour rum drinks kilohana plantation mai tai great rum tasting open air truck safari truck wooden walkway jungle setting fun and informative tour second stop learned how two hours mixed drinks covered pavilion lush vegetation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a fun, informative and very tasty experience. Tiny and Fletcher were excellent guides and mixologists. The Koloa rums we tasted were all excellent but the highlights were the cocktails that used fruits grown on the former sugar plantation. It was very interesting to see and taste the tropical fruits we saw growing — bananas, pineapples, mountains apples, citrus, mangoes, papayas, avocado, and more. There were also animals - wild pigs, cattle, donkeys, horses. The wild jungles area was beautiful with colorful varieties of ginger. We were entertained, pleasantly inebriated and felt safe and well cared for. The tram goes over some rough spots so secure your gear.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank 846stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiSafaris, Owner at Kauai Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much! We appreciate your support and aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a fun evening! Our driver and guide were knowledgeable and humorous, and so very helpful. The ranch is beautiful and the drinks were excellent. Off to purchase a few bottles before we fly out.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiSafaris, Owner at Kauai Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hope you had an enjoyable trip! Mahalo for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I weren't sure what to expect, but this ended up being a highlight of our trip—and indeed a highlight of all our travel experiences!

The whole thing was entertaining, informative, and scenic -- we learned about various plants, the history of rum/sugar, and stopped to have superb drinks in stunning locations on the property. With the jeep, professional guides, and beautiful surroundings, the whole thing feels a bit like Disneyland (someone mentioned a "very mild Indiana Jones" adventure and I think that's spot on!) We had a range of ages on the tour, from younger couples to older ones and some folks with adult children, and everyone seemed to have a great time.

I recommend the 4pm tour for the beautiful evening light and better weather, but if you want to go to the Koloa Rum gift shop, you have to go before the tour because it closes at 5. They even provided bug spray at the stops for mosquitos, which was a must for people like me who always gets bit.

Re: COVID protocols, I was glad to see that everyone was asked to keep their masks on during the open-air jeep ride as an extra precaution and then they said we could remove them when we stopped at our drink spots since we could spread out. The masks on the jeep kind of went to the wayside after the first drink though, but since everything is outdoors, and we were vaccinated (and riding with people who had presumably recently passed Hawaii's strict travel rules), even those of us who hadn't left the house for 18 months felt safe.

We will be telling our friends to do this tour, and we'd go again with them too!

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank bayareavni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiSafaris, Owner at Kauai Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you could join and hope you can visit with us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The entire tour was a great blend of experiences - riding through the orchards with informative tidbits on history of the plantation and uses for the various fruit, the “jungle” stroll on the elevated pathway to the banyan tree gazebo for the Koloa Rum tasting & cocktail, seeing the grazing farm animals with cute names, and the gorgeous view at our 2nd cocktail outdoor living room! And then there was the humor of our guides/bartenders!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank JanieKalaheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiSafaris, Owner at Kauai Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Mahalo for joining us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

The Rum Safari exceeded our expectations. Tiny and Courtney made it so much fun and the drinks were delic!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Fijigirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiSafaris, Owner at Kauai Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your rum safari! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews