We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Harbor Resort(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$400/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$216
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$328
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
293
101
25
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
101
25
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroomgolf coursemarriott hotelbeach clubisland viewbeach accesswater aerobicsmain marriottliving roomwalk in closetritz carlton residencesfull kitchenlight housebuilding cshuttle ridenearby marriottfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

This resort was luxurious all the way. The rooms are spacious with top of the line amenities!! Could not be happier. As others have said, little disappointing to not be able to use main resort pool without going to sales pitch!! Kinda lame but pool by our room was awesome and quaint. For all those that want amenities..... Get off your lazy behind and tour the island! You do realize that your in Hawaii and can drive ANYWHERE you want. Waimea Canyon and Hanalei beach don't come to you. I think that's kinda funny. Also, Paul at the front desk was sooo helpful and courteous. 5 Stars to him fro a job well done. My family is ABSOLUTELY gonna stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank 63colinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for your review, Colin! We are pleased your time in Hawaii was spent checking out the local attractions of the island and relaxing in your well-appointed villa. Thanks for the shout out to Paul! We look forward to having your family again at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

This is not your typical Vacation Villas and trip here in July was fantastic. These villas were NOT built as "time-shares" but rather as $2.4 to $3.6 million condos for sale. When real estate plummeted in 2008, Marriott was able to pick up this complex and so glad they did. Our 3-bedroom, 3-bath unit had great views of the water and mountains and was extremely comfortable. The design/layout worked perfectly, the unit was very spacious, and to enjoy your morning coffee as the sun rose and reflected off the water was stunning.

It's not your typical Marriott Vacation Club but that's OK. All the amenities (spa, beach, restaurants, golf, surfing, paddle boarding, etc) were a short 10-minute walk to the Marriott Hotel. The swimming pool is average but several families had young kids and they seemed to thoroughly enjoy themselves. There were 2 fire-pits (even in Hawaii) and 3-4 gas grills with tables/umbrella for outdoor eating.

I highly recommend and especially if you want/need a 3-bedroom unit, no other options within Marriott on Kauai. Loved it and we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Request 3rd or 4th floor unit.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ShermanSUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons! It is great to know your overall time at the resort was lovely, with your well-appointed villa with a view and great amenities for spending time in the sun. We look forward to having you for another island vacation again at Kauai Lagoons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

So I went with my family to Kauai for a 10 day stay and I thought great we're going to be at an awesome resort with lots to do. But then we get there and there is nothing to do. I mean nothing (the isn't even that great) the only option of what to do is to get bused down to the main Marriott resort and hang out there. But overall the Hotel had great views of the mountains and the water and the overall beauty of Kauai. But theres nothing to do. My recommendation is to stay at the main Marriott resort

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for your review of Marriott’s Kauai Lagoons, Nicholas! We are glad you found Lihue beautiful and enjoyed taking in the scenery of the island. We are sorry to hear your overall expectations for the resort fell short during your visit. Your feedback regarding activities is appreciated and will be shared with the resort management team for future improvements in recreation. We look forward to truly meeting your expectations next time at Marriott Vacation Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

My family and I are on our second family vacation to Kaua'i in the last few years. We have stayed at a number of timeshare and different resorts to round out our stays. This Marriott is was overall a big disappoint for number of reasons.
1) This Kauai Lagoons is not the Kauai Resort even though the signage and branding through the property looks the same. ( I will get back to why this is confusing and important)
2) Our room overlooked two major construction areas that was never mentioned during the booking or when we checked in
3) Equipment for our use did not function. The outside firepit for example.
MOST IMPORTANTLY
We were treated rudely and basically misinformed (we specifically asked the check in "Lineua" that we could use the facilities at the Kauai Lagoons and Kauai Resort.) Not true! Upon going to use the pool after surfing at the Kauai Resort, My whole family was thrown out of the pool area as if we were trespassing.

To some up, I travel for business and with my family on great frequency and I have never been treated this way or mislead to cause my family such embarrassment. I have been a frequent Marriott Rewards traveler, but this particular property and its hospitality leave a lot to be desired on this great island.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank kentjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for your review of Marriott’s Kauai Lagoons. We are sorry the resort did meet the expectations you expect as a Marriott guest. We appreciate your feedback regarding amenities and the front desk team is helpful and will be shared with the resort management team for improvements in the overall quality of the resort. We look forward to making your next vacation unforgettable at Marriott Vacation Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners and have traded our timeshare extensively. I can honestly say we've stayed in at least 15 Marriott properties plus many others through Interval worldwide. This hotel seemed very strange to me. It is located very close to the airport. Yes, you definitely can hear helicopters flying over and an occasional airplane. This seemed weird to be in such a beautiful, peaceful, place and yet have all of this external noise. Secondly, this property does not have ANY amenities, other than a small pool and a small gym (both of which were empty). You would think a bar would be a nice profit center for the hotel :)

As others have said, the rooms are amazing. The Lanai was beautiful, the view was beautiful, etc. This, is in my opinion, is to be expected with a Marriott property. The hotel is quick to say the main hotel is a walk or a shuttle ride away. I am a very active person and the walk was quite far; at least two miles. AND the shuttle does not run often. In fact, it stopes running at night. So if you have too much to drink at the hotel bar, be sure to be prepared for a long walk back. Parts of the walk does not have sidewalks too.

The other thing we didn't like was the area seems a bit depressing. The timeshares are surrounded by abandoned construction. Very depressing. We finally learned that the Lagoons was originally built for the purpose of fractional ownership. When this idea failed, they tuned it into a timeshare. This explains the lack of amenities. In my opinion, Marriott needs to fix this. Also, apparently, Marriott has a difficult time filling the rooms. There were rooms rented out to local tournament baseball teams. There were loud parties in a few of the rooms and little kids running around chasing the poor roosters. We finally had to say something to the kids because their parents were too drunk to pay attention to their kids which were torturing the birds and picking all of the flowers in the garden.

We eventually got over the fact that the hotel had no amenities, there was no beach access and the area was strange and enjoyed our trip. The hotel staff was very nice, the place is well maintained, you could not hear the air traffic from inside the room and the location, as weird as it is being close to the airport, was on a convenient part of the island and is commutable to many places. All in all, we had a great time but would not stay at this property again for the reasons mentioned.

Room Tip: Most rooms have great views. Some of the lower floors may not.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JackieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for your review, Jackie! We are sorry your initial time at Marriott’s Kauai Lagoons did not start off well, but it is terrific to hear your vacation turned around and ended up being a relaxing vacation.Your feedback regarding amenities is appreciated and will be shared with the resort management team for ideas for future additions to the resort. We look forward to finding you your perfect Marriott Vacation Club Resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews