We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our 2nd stay at Makahuena was even better than the 1st ime!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Ranked #26 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our 2nd stay at Makahuena was even better than the 1st ime!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

There is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the waves craching on the bluffs, which were practically right outside our room!
We had rented an oceanview condo from Castle Resorts 7 years ago and loved it. The tradewinds kept things cool, and it was our 1st time renting a condo for a vacation, instead of staying in a hotel. A home away from home is what it felt like! When we saw the ocean front condos in front of us, we knew we had to stay there on this trip! So glad we did!

Room Tip: Ask for either Ocean View or Ocean Front Condos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha Lyndamama,

We appreciate your comments and glad that your stay here at the Makahuena was pleasant and wonderful. You are correct, falling asleep listening to the waves and the ocean breeze is such a soothing and comfortable feeling.

We hope top see you again in the very near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    40
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

9 adults in 3 units on the property for a family birthday. One oceanfront unit, one oceanview, and one with a garden view. All were happy with the accomodations they received as well as the grounds. The pool was small, but was good enough for a quick cool off after the hot tub.Could not have had a better location to view the sunrise as well as the sunset everyday. And the whales. They were totally incredible and absolutely were a treasure to behold everyday.
Definitely a car is required for this location, although there are great places to walk from the property, to get around to get groceries etc definitely requires personal transport.
Evelyn in the office was great. The only real problem we encountered in one unit was with the internet. The problem was handled immediately and taken care of within an hour with assistance from the 3rd party service provider.
Would return anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha Laura Sidney,

We would like to express our appreciation for your comments. We do have a gem of property that sits on the edge of the small cliff overlooking the the Pacific Blue where one can view the early morning sunrise and view the sunset on the same afternoon. If you decide to visit our island again be sure to make your reservatins at the Makahuena.

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed here in March 2007. True the property is run down but we spent most of our time looking out on the small sprouting horn where we saw turtles and a visit from a whale. I ventured out on the trail to the Hyatt early one morning for breakfast and hiking back really appreciated my swim in the pool to cool down. I would stay there again just for the ocean experience.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AkMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Aloha Thank for your comments and we hope you do visit us again in the near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davis ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We found this unit 4105 on vrbo. Grounds were nice, but too far to walk to the beach with any carry alongs. Units are individually owned so each is different, our unit was like a basement. Lanai was a joke with a few plastic chairs, on a cement pad about 3 feet wide with a hill right in front that obscured any view. Kitchen windows were so corroded that they would not open and the view out of them was of a wall, same as the second bedroom. Bright light shining into 2nd bedroom every night. Fans in bathroom very loud and attached to light so you had to use them. Carpet spotted and dirty. The owner accused us of smoking in the unit and withheld our entire 300.00 security deposit. We never smoked in the unit. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustDavisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannon750, Owner at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Hi, we're the owners of 4105. Our property is clearly marketed as "non-smoking," and the renter’s security deposit was not returned as her husband repeatedly smoked during their stay. They were asked 6 different times to stop smoking by our neighbor, our property manager, and the Makahuena manager, and they refused. She originally wrote an email detailing their positive experience in staying in our unit; there was no mention of any of the issues she included in her review, nor is it true--except for the fact that we're a ground unit, as the pictures on our website reflect and is how we market our property.

We take great pride in the fact that our condo is rented over 90% of the year, we have many repeat visitors, and that we invest thousands of dollars each year to update it to ensure our guests have a fantastic vacation when staying with us, as the renter and her family obviously did. It was only due to the fact that they repeatedly broke the house rules (which are posted on our condo website, in our confirmation email to our renters, and throughout the condo) that we regretfully had to take this action.

Note that her claim has been denied by both VRBO and PayPal, and as this occurred she told us she would be writing this review. However, our renters expect a clean, non-smoking property and we try our best to provide this to them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, AR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

This trip marked the third time my wife and I have gone to Hawaii, but the first time to Kauai. So after 15 hours of traveling, all we were looking forward to was getting a good night's sleep.

When we arrived at the "resort," we had a hard time telling much about the place, as it was dark and anyone that's been to Hawaii knows that all utility poles use those yellow x-ray looking lights. Anyhow, when we arrived, I went to the office to check in and get our room key. There was a note on the door that said to go to a certain unit to get our room key off the manager's door. So I went to this unit and got our key off a clipboard where all other guest's keys were hanging too. It wasn't creepy at all that anyone could have nabbed our key.

I went back and gathered up our luggage, and the wife and I headed to our room. We opened the door, and noticed a lot of sand in the floor. We looked to the utility room/bathroom to the right, and noticed dirty towels on washing machine. Once we got into the living room, it was apparent that the unit had not been cleaned, which was further evidenced by the rotten food sitting on the kitchen countertops, and dirty dishes sitting in the sink. We looked upstairs and could see that the bedroom at the top of the stairs hadn't been cleaned, and didn't even bother to go up to look at the rest of the unit.

We called the manager on site, who said she had to call the site manager to discuss what to do - she finally called back after 30 minutes and said that the site manager was on the way to take care of the situation, and would be there in 20 minutes. We had a very nice woman and her son stop by us on separate occasions to see if we were locked out, and they stuck around to chat a bit to see how we were and where we were from. There are familys that live in this resort full time, and all that we encountered were nice, and probably one of the best things about this place - because in the daylight, it's really not much to look at, other than around the pool.

The site manager finally showed up an hour later, and told us that the owners of the unit were responsible for cleaning the unit, and that he had to take pictures to send to the owners, and that he'd get us moved into another unit. So, after close to two hours of waiting around for the manager, we finally got to move into another unit near the pool. We were moved from an ocean view unit to a poolside unit, and told that our unit would be ready by 11am the next morning. The unit we moved into was extremely warm, and we didn't sleep worth anything.

The next morning, no call from the manager. I called the manager at 11:15 asking what the status was on the room, and they were just about to start it. They finally called us shortly before 1pm saying it was done. We packed our things and went by the office and swapped keys, and I asked the manager what the comp/adjustment would be to our bill, and she said she'd have to talk to the site manager about that. I let it go for the remainder of our trip, because I wanted to be sure my wife had fun, and was trying to stay positive.

Our now-clean unit wasn't that bad. If you're expecting something that is current and up to date - good luck finding that in HI unless you go to an upper-end resort. This unit, once cleaned, wasn't bad, but could definitely use a renovation. The view was very nice, and the breeze off the ocean was excellent. The only problems we had with the hotel for the remainder of the trip was the TV in the master bedroom blew up two or three days before we left (we were there 8 days). The old wicker furniture wasn't terribly uncomfortable, and our bed was fairly decent.

Upon checkout, I again asked about the comp/adjustment for the hassle we'd gotten, and received the same response, and was told that the manger would call me on the following Tuesday (we flew home on a Saturday night, getting back to the states on Sunday afternoon). I never heard from him - suprise suprise.

Overall, we had a lot of fun on this trip - mostly because we were only at our unit a few hours during the day, and mostly just there to sleep. The best part about this resort was the residents - there are good people that live here, and they were friendly. The staff provided horrible service - I couldn't even get towels from them (which I ended up swiping off the housekeeping cart when I saw it out and about). They never cleaned our unit (which wasn't a suprise), but not providing towels? C'mon. How is it that you can keep guests that have flown for 15 hours to stay at your resort waiting for two hours to get into a room, and then a manager can't seem to have the authority to make it up to them in any way? And the site manager just can't seem to find the time to call you back?

Overall, the bad service is what killed this place for us. We were less than impressed with how it looked from the outside (not quite as bad as a subsidized apartment complex, but definitely not as good as your average apartment complex), but it felt safe and secure, and once it was cleaned, we could handle it looking dated - the service was just that terrible that we won't be back.

Oh, and if you stay in this area, definitely get a Puka Dog and try out Keoki's, and get over to Old Koloa town, and ride the flums!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crsmith76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Poipu Shores Resort
#14 of 30 in Poipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#6 of 30 in Poipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Whalers Cove Resort
#4 of 30 in Poipu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Makahuena at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Property: Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Address: 1661 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9593
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price range (per night): $367 - $1,493
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Makahuena at Poipu 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium on the southernmost point of Kauai that offers a rare opportunity to experience both a stunning sunrise and sunset. Accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include a pool, jet spa, tennis court, and barbecue grills. Front Desk Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm After Hours Check-In: Please call the resort in advance for after hours check-in instructions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Makahuena at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing