We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free heaven”
Review of Maui Bread Company

Maui Bread Company
Ranked #4 of 6 Bakeries in Kihei
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Description: Local Hawaiian all hand made bakery. All products are made from scratch. All products are made with all natural ingredients. We also serve many Gluten Free options.
Restaurant details
Description: Local Hawaiian all hand made bakery. All products are made from scratch. All products are made with all natural ingredients. We also serve many Gluten Free options.
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

The only thing good about Kihei is this bakery. The coconut milk cold brew is delicious and I got one every day. The gluten free options were such a nice surprise. I loved the fresh vegan/gluten free banana bread and macadamia cookie. I could have cried when I found out that I could just walk into a bakery and grab gluten free products. The staff is lovely and answered all of my questions regarding ingredients.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank lks500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Bread Company, Owner at Maui Bread Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Thank you for this lovely review. We are very happy we could spoil you with our gluten free products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2021

We really tried to find the positives in this place, but it was difficult. For us, there was nothing outstanding.

We ordered their cake with the custard cream. The cream filling had a good taste. However, the top of the cake that is covered in almonds was hard. So it you tried to cut through it with a fork, the cream filling squirted out the side.

The pretzel didn't have a good chew to it like other Bavarian pretzels we have had.

The bacon cheese twist didn't have any cheese on it. It tasted like you took a hot dog bun and added two strips of bacon. The bacon wasn't crisp, no cheese, average bread, it was a bust.

The Hawaiian Bread actually tasted pretty good. Sorry to say that what we bought was just average. If you were already in the area and went into the store early in the morning when there were more selections, it might be fine. For us however, it was one and done.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Bread Company, Owner at Maui Bread Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Thanks for trying a variety of our products. We are sorry they did not meet your taste and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021

I love to bake and eat bread and pastries. I seek out bakeries on almost all of our trips. The Maui Bread Company has a lot of style but I would not recommend it because the baked items are dry, rather bland, and overpriced (even for Maui).

They are clearly trying to appeal to image-conscious shoppers with their interior design style, the way they arrange their items for sale, and unique names for each type of baked good (one loaf of bread is called Norbert... what in the world does that even mean?). They play up their ingredients (spelt is mentioned a lot), rather than the flavors.

I've tried multiple things on the menu -- the plain bread roll was the best, the cinnamon roll was the worst. Everything was dry and a few things tasted burnt to me. The prices for everything was above what I'd expect, even on Maui. Expect to spend around $50 for a breakfast bread item and a bottle of water for 4 people.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebeccam78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Bread Company, Owner at Maui Bread Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Thank you for your kind words about our store. We are even more sorry that our products did not appeal to you.
Mentioning the unique names of our products, this is the explanation: "As you read the description of our German artisan bread (Brot) and rolls (Brötchen) you will notice each carries a name. This did not come by chance, they are the names of dear family members, friends, and mentors."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021

We stumbled on this bakery, and made a pilgrimage every day for the rest of our vacation. They sell out of bread so get there early. We tried a variety and everything was excellent: Almond Scones (not sickly sweet, very European style and absolutely delicious!), Banana-Walnut Bread (moist and loaded with walnuts), Pineapple Bread (a little sweeter but full of real pineapple flavor), the Laugenrezeln (pretzel bread--try it with some sharp cheddar, yum), and more! We met the owner, great guy. Bought his ovens from Germany to achieve a real European style bread. Some gluten free choices as well.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 352renes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Bread Company, Owner at Maui Bread Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Thanks for this kind and detailed review. We are happy when our customers are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

Bought varieties of stuffs for 8 people. We bought Hawaiian & POG bread (end up eating these during tea time early evening). For breakfast we tried pinacolada bread (a hit for everyone, love it), lilikoi bread (a bit too sour for our liking), chocolate & almond croissant (the filling in the almond croissant is creamy & more fulfilling compare with chocolate filling. Love the almond croissant better but both are delicious), Hawaiian muffin (taste is good but texture is too soft & crumbly), sausage & hotdog breads are awesome, a hit for teenage boys in our group; also was my reason to drop by this bakery. Will be back to buy more tomorrow.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank 566desia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Bread Company, Owner at Maui Bread Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Thank you for coming in and trying such a variety of our treats. We are happy we could sweeten the vacation of all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maui Bread Company also viewed

 

Been to Maui Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.