We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Food in Maui ”

Sansei Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 162 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

After being closed for 9 months, Sansei was ready to open its doors to locals and the tourists that frequent this place for a great Japanese meal in west Maui.
The servers and the staff were EXTREMELY thankful and appreciative of us dining in, especially our server Sunny.

The menu was interesting as it had a mix of the three DK restaurants (Vino and DK steakhouse). They had some pasta dishes and some steak in the mix of their Japanese dishes.

The must get items: miso butterfish, the Holy Cow Roll, the mango crab salad hand roll, and the DK crab ramen. All dishes are great for sharing with the rest of your party!
Right now I don’t think they had happy hour during our visit but I’m sure it will return later as they are just starting out after being closed for 9 months.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank matt2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

We ordered the $50 platter to go and found that what we received appeared to be the cheap sushi. Had other sushi in Kihei and it was far better.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2020 via mobile

If you want to grab some sushi in Maui I’d check this place out for sure! Good quality! You probably want to make reservations.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank koking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

There are several locations this is for Kihei, Maui.
We been years prior in Kihei and Kapalua always reliable. I recommend a reso or you will wait.
This visit was Kihei location, soon to move to new location close by.
Open only in evenings, great gor family, friends or date night.
HAPPY HOUR: 5:00- 5:30 only! Orders must by in by 5:30 to get special pricing And doors open at 5pm so make reso or line up. I believe 50% off Sun & Mon with 25% off Tues-Thurs certain food items. Menu is large so read ahead online and plan strategy before you get there as 30 min go fast.
I would go for full price but feature price is a nice win especially if currency exchange is a consideration.
Menu is large with great options. Sushi is frssh and delicious. Miso Sablefish is our favorite so ordered several.
Good wine and sake menu too. Service is top notch, very attentive and helpful. Jar was exceptional and lots of fun. Look forward to visiting again on our next trip.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank sharpemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

It took every ounce of willpower to stop myself from inhaling supper. By savouring each bite I was truly able to understand why Sansei’s reputation as top notch remains unchallenged. After ordering ahi medium done hubby thought he made a mistake however I reassured him the kitchen would expertly deliver...and it did. Tempura, scallops on parsnip purée, the sum of all its parts signature mango crab dish, rice infused with furinake, shrimp nest, each bite truly delicious. Bonus: we ordered by 5:30 so enjoyed a 25% price reduction.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank GRGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.