We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
262
46
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
262
46
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bob sande wonderful hosts beach chairs mango tree privacy cooler wailea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Comfy bed, fresh fruit and muffins for breakfast, rarely included bathtub (great after a long bicycle ride up through Wailea). As no rental cars were to be found and Lyft drivers are scarce, I used Maui bus, about 2/3 mile walk, so getting around without a car was pretty easy. Sande and Bob were wonderful hosts and I appreciated their respect for my privacy. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichelleCoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande Greene, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

We loved sharing our home with you. Thanks for the great review, and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

Just spent 4 nts with Bob and Sande. We truly enjoyed staying with them! Super personable hosts that we enjoyed sharing time with while eating delicious breakfasts. The conversation came easily and the laughs were in abundance.
I commented to them that I felt like we were coming " home" at the end of every busy day. A very different feel from staying in hotels/ resorts.
We found the bed very comfortable. Pillows not my favorite,but I'm particular about pillows. Slept with the slider door open, along with the ceiling fan every night for air to circulate very nicely. One warning: There is outside noise if you are light sleepers ( we really aren't). You can hear the main road noise, there are roosters in the neighborhood and a neighbor very close by has a dog that barks at night. Not our host's fault nor did we hold it against our thoughts about our stay. If it were summer, the AC would have drowned out outside noise entirely. Maybe bring earplugs if you want to avoid. The backyard area is a nice little relaxing oasis and the bathroom is clean and well stocked.

Overall,a fantastic stay! Would absolutely 100% consider for future recharge trips without the kids! Mahalo for your hospitality, Bob and Sande

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank klr6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Mahalo for your great review! We very much enjoyed getting to know you two and hosting your stay. We're so happy you enjoyed staying with us. Perhaps we neglected to mention that additional pillows were to be found in the bedroom closet. We look forward to sharing our home with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019

Reading reviews from many travelers including the negative reviews, it is clear that the owners have made efforts to remedy some issues and have updated the unit to include AC, a microwave and a small refrigerator. For Hawaii (more expensive than on the US mainland) this B&B is a very good option if you want some privacy, amenities like cable, Wifi, AC, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker etc.

Pros:

There is AC, ceiling fan and extra fan. The room tends to be a bit warm (we visited in December), but with plenty of fans and the AC the room temperature was not a big issue. In summer it might be warmer and AC more necessary.

The unit is fairly private especially now that the room next door is no longer rented. You have a private parking area and private entrance which is well illuminated at night.

The unit was clean and the bed/sheets etc were fine.

There may be a bit of traffic noise, but with the AC running this was not really an issue for us.

We found the microwave and small refrigerator very useful.

The large table and chairs outside in the private patio are a plus, we enjoyed more than one meal there in the private patio.

Wi fi and Cable were good. Coffee maker in the bathroom and excellent quality coffee and cream are provided for your convenience. Fresh flowers were a nice touch.

The unit comes with a private bathroom. You have to go into a hallway to get to the bathroom but it is not far. Plenty of towels

Two closets and plenty of drawers are provided.

Unusual perks at this B&B include the jackets (needed if you go to Haleakala for sunrise and did not bring jackets), ice chest, beach towels, beach chairs. We only used the ice chest which came in handy for daily outings – we had planned on trips to Haleakala so we came prepared for cold.

The location is good and more convenient if you are going to Haleakala National Park or anywhere north or east on Maui. This B&B’s north end of Kihei location avoids the congestion at Lahaina where many people stay and also driving through most of Kihei. There is a gas station/convenience store very close to this B&B. Convenient if you need ice or other items. We did not have any issues with the neighborhood or neighbors and the traffic in this neighborhood was light.

Bob and Sande were very pleasant hosts and answered many questions and provided plenty of recommendations.

Cons:

Breakfast is a bit late at 8:15 am (we often get up early when traveling especially if daylight is limited). This is not a problem since they will provide you with a breakfast to go if you let them know before 4 pm the previous day. The views from the lanai where not what I had expected when reading the description of such a view. We saw the ocean but it is not too close and the trees are blocking a bit of the view as well. Some reviewers have complained about the lack of hot items, and having felt "observed". I can say the webpage is pretty clear about the type of breakfast it is and the time and the options you have if you plan to leave early. Mangos, Papayas and Passion Fruit weren’t our favorites – so perhaps mention this if you prefer something else. Pineapple is always available. Not being used to talking to hosts at breakfast I too felt a bit awkward at first, but the experience was useful and pleasurable in the end. The hosts information can be very valuable. We actually have stayed at very few B&B’s in the USA so we can’t say how typical this is.

Beach access: the beach is not far if you drive. It is possible to walk to the beach which is not really that far, but we did not feel comfortable doing so given the lack of sidewalks. There is parking at the beach - if you drive it is very close.

I would have preferred a bathroom with a regular shower and not a bathtub design. It felt a bit tight and I hit myself a few times getting in and out. The said there was plenty of hot water and the bathroom was fairly spacious.

Space: The room seemed a bit small at times. Admittedly we did have a fair amount of luggage (a 19-day trip to 3 islands). There are closets and drawers which you have to use to keep all your stuff organized.

Refunds: It did seem unusual (based on our experience after 38 countries visited included some B&B’s) that there is a 60 day cancellation policy after which you lose any refundable amount. This seems long so you have to be willing to lose your deposits/payment if you are unable to make it and can't cancel 2 months before your arrival. But many people will book far in advance; we did so relatively late.

In conclusion: There are some cons about this property as is the case with almost any property you can think of. We feel that the positives exceed the negatives and the price is very reasonable for this location and for Hawaii in general. Maui is expensive. A condo in great shape, on the first floor and with great views right on the ocean would earn higher marks from us. Such condos exist (the owners of this B&B also rent a property that may fit the description of such a condo) but such places will be much more expensive in general (at least $100-$200 a night higher).

So if your aim is to be next to the beach and have a modern (full kitchen) condo and are willing to pay the much, repeat much higher price this B&B is not for you. On the other hand, if the beach and or a full kitchen are not high priority items and you plan on being out all day doing things, and want a reasonably priced unit, this is a very reasonable option.

Room tip: If you want breakfast in your fridge let the owners know by 4 pm previous day.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to be your hosts, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our cancellation policy is typical for Hawaii accommodations, and our website suggests that guests protect themselves from an unforseen change of plans (illness, flight cancellation, etc.) with travel insurance. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Before you read any further, if you are lucky and the place is available JUST book it! Sande and Bob are gracious hosts who maintain a beautiful bed and breakfast with every convenience and charm one could ask for.

The place has all the charm in the world with mature trees giving shade in the lanai and bird songs keeping you company.

The B&B was private and had thoughtful amenities making our entire trip so much nicer, with beach chairs & umbrella, heavy jackets to brave the cold at Haleakala sunrise (40 F), to-go breakfast to acommodate our schedule.
Loved Sande's banana bread and tropical fruits for breakfast - made for a great day starter!

The location is perfect - about 5 mins to sandy, swim-friendly, low crowd beaches.

We had a memorable stay here!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaranyaaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Thank you so very much for your great review! We were so happy to be able to host your stay for your wedding anniversary, and loved sharing our home with you both. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

We had spent 4 wonderful days at the Ocean Breeze. Sande and Bob gave us a very warm welcome. Everything was fine. Very good breakfast. Very clean room. Even beach chairs, an umbrella, flippers and a portable cooler was provided.
The Ocean Breeze was our first B&B on Hawaii. We didn´t find anything similar than this nice "home".

Thanks again,

Dani and Uwe

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank UweundDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thanks for this great review! You are a very sweet couple, and we very much enjoyed getting to know you both. We're so happy you felt at home. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews