We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kula Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$577
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$214
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$599
US$501
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$560/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$529
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$565/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$769
US$619
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,119
US$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$579
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
65
79
41
18
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
79
41
18
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaleakala cratermaui onion soupupcountry mauiwood fired pizzastayed two nightspineappleelectric fireplacesunsetlandscapingpaiahana
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We ate breakfast @ Kula Lodge 12 yrs ago while biking down Haleakala. It was 1 of my standout memories from a 10 day 3 island vacation. We're back w/our 3 daughters & Kula was a MUST. The mac nut pancakes w/pineapples topped with coconut syrup are still amazing, as is the lodge grounds & the store. We cannot recommend this place highly enough if you're in Upcountry Maui!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This USED to be ONE of my favorite eateries on Maui. Now, the management has once again changed and I recently received THE most unfriendly service from the new female manager. Prices have skyrocketed on meals, and the lady who tend the gardens is a cold, callous, unfriendly women, not at all what you might expect from a woman who'd job it is to water and plant flowers. I am shocked and appalled and deeply disappointed in the quality of service, management, and even for Maui the RIDICULOUS prices. I will spend a LOT for a great meal with even better service, with Kula Lodge used to provide. NOW> I have to wonder whoever owns this establishment... well, go see for yourself, if you dare. From and 8 year Maui resident who LOVES leaving GREAT reviews. So sad to see such a lovey view overcast with such horrid management, customer service, and ownership. If you want to pay these prices. go to Mama's Fish House where you will get what you pay for. Or, try formerly known as Makawao Steak House. You want the view. stick with Mama's.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE. You are better off at a B&B.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant for lunch last week.....what a treat! Amazing view overlooking a wonderful garden and the hills of the surrounding area. Food was very good and service was wonderful....we plan on returning next year when we come back to Maui..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank judge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Spontaneous decision to stop here when in the area. Interesting location, nice decor (should find way to open the windows to let fresh air in), very nice views of their gardens and down and across to west Maui. People and service was quite good. Tried their brick oven No ka oi pizza. Couldn't really taste the flavors as the pizza was over cooked- crust dark brown, cheese even darker brown. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

A quaint lodge. Great ambiance. A keyboard player entertained us with pleasant music. We arrived just as they were closing up for the evening. They very graciously seated us and never made us feel rushed. The server was very friendly and took great care of us.
Will have to say the server & the atmosphere MADE this stop a success. Pricing was a little on the high side even for Hawaii; food was good, but not excellent. Would love to stop in again when it's not closing time to give it another shot.

We both ordered the Filet, cooked Medium. One came out medium, mine was more Medium-Well than medium and the sauce made it a little too salty. Pineapple up-side-down cake was AWESOME!

Overall a good experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews