We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$334/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$368
US$355
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Ocean's Edge(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kahana(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$226
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,945
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,054)
Filter reviews
7,054 results
Traveller rating
3,409
2,010
958
444
233
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,409
2,010
958
444
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan courtatrium towerour honeymoonbreakfast buffetswim up barexotic birdsself parkingresort feewalk in closetpool areawhalers villagelahaina towerkaanapali beachpartial ocean viewmaui resortocean frontkids pool
Filter
Updating list...
6,093 - 6,098 of 7,054 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is a very dated hotel and the rooms are in desperate need of renovating. Our hearts sunk when we saw the room. Dated carpet and old wooden furniture. The bathrooms are very small, the shower is over the bath and the toilet is not seperate. We had been to two other islands previously and both of the hotels there were beautiful and we thought we had done our homework on the Maui hotels but we were so disappointed. The pool area is large but the sun lounges are packed in like sardines in a can with hardly any shade. I am sorry but I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A6027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Hyatt on Kaanapali Beach - and we wish it was longer! The hotel is amazing and beautiful; we can't say enough good things about it. Upon arrival the front desk upgraded us to a full ocean view with two balconies - the room was so incredible sometimes we didn't want to leave!

The Concierge Jeffrie was great! He booked us for the Hyatt Luau (gave us VIP access) and for a tour with Mauiscape Helicopter (great tour as well). Go see Jeffrie - he won't disappoint you!

The pools are amazing - swimming at night in the grotto is so much fun! The hotel's location is towards the end of the walking path on Kaanapali, so the foot traffic is much less at this hotel, which can be nice. The fitness center is great - all updated equipment with beach front views! We will be coming back to this great hotel next time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mnerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Tried Umalu at the Hyatt and the food is incredible. Casual atmosphere with great service. You have to try the Mahi taco's for lunch and the taro crusted Mahi for dinner. I could eat there everyday there's so much to choose from. Oh and the poke nachos, I've never heard of it before and it's fabulous if you love raw fish!! Loved it!!!!

3  Thank MauiDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Maui the first week of May. Once again, wonderful
service, great room, great everything! I can't understand why some nitpick this hotel.
As for those who are dissatisfied with the partial ocean view rooms, you need
to request the Napili tower if you want a good partial o/v. I too wouldn't want
to overlook the cemetery, so stay away from the Lahaina tower. We always request
either the atrium tower or the Napili.
On our last stay we were on a Priceline deal, so we already had a pretty good
deal going of $185 per night. While checking in, the front desk informed us that
we were in a golf/mountain room [they upgraded us automatically again, for the 5th
time] so we inquired about upgrading to a deluxe ocean room in the atrium
tower, so we paid an additional $80 per night to upgrade to this fantastic room.
Ordinarily we don't pay for upgrades, but because we got such a great deal to
begin with, the overall price of $265 per night for a deluxe ocean room was an
excellent deal, especially since that room would have cost us $450 had we booked
directly with Hyatt or $400 per night via any other package deal. For us, that made
the trip special. We were on the 19th floor and the bathroom was even a little
nicer, with extra storage and drawers. Housekeeping was prompt every day.
The new pool bar/restaurant Umalu was a disappointment, but only because they
increased their prices exhorbitantly. We loved the old pool snack bar/restaurant
much more. Due to the price gouging, we went off-campus every day to CJ's Comfort
Zone and brought our food back to the hotel, or we went next door to the Marriott and
brought back food from their snack bar. Other than that minor flaw, the trip was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WORLDLYLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Just got back from Hawaii. We stayed at the Hyatt for our stay on Maui and loved it. The room was large and had nice decor. The staff were all very friendly. We had an ocean view room and it was so nice to sit out on the balcony in the mornings. Plus the resort is right on the ocean so we could listen to the waves at night. I must say however that the beach the hotel is on is not the greatest. Its very small and rocky. BUT, the property is so beautiful and the pool is great so we didn't really care. Plus if you wanted to lay out on a beach you could walk up the path a few minutes to the Westin area and there was plenty of nice sandy beach there. We enjoyed the pool area and the waitstaff seemed very attentive.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning (which was included in our package which I highly recommend doing) and they had a great spread which was very satisfying. The hotel also had a sushi restaurant, the Umalu restaurant/bar and the Sonz restaurant. The sushi place was over priced for the quality but we thought but it was nice to sit outside while we ate and enjoy the view. The Umalu bar restaurant was fun to sit at in the afternoons and the staff was very friendly. The food here was pretty good. We enjoyed the fish tacos, and I had a great veggie burger here too. However this was pricey too. We never made it to the Sonz restaurant b/c we wanted to get out to some great dining experiences that the island had to offer. I think the prices here are just high for the quality, the food is decent, but there is a better value outside the hotel to eat.
There were plenty of activities staff to help choose activities as well. I appreciated the hotel had this staff and the long hours they seemed available. We booked a trip on the Hula Girl catamaran which was one of the nicest experiences of our trip! I really recommend it. Plus the lunch was excellent!
The grounds of this hotel are really quite pretty. Very lush. The pool was very pretty and had a waterfall, however the childrens pool was closed for 2 days for renovations while we were there. I'm sure this was disappointing to a lot of parents but they had it back up and running in 2 days.
Since it was off season when we went there were some renovations being done to one of the bridges, the coffee bar, and the slide. This did not bother us at all b/c we don't have kids and are not big coffee drinkers.
There were two parking lots here and we never had a problem finding a spot after one of our outings. The spaces are really small but it worked. I can't imagine what it would be like during the busy season though.
We also attended the luau at the hotel. Never being to one it was a good show with good food! It was recommended to us so we went and it was also convenient being at the hotel. Definitely go if you stay here (but I have nothing to compare it to, except the small production we glimpsed at our hotel on the Big Island).
Again I thought this was a great place to stay if you want a resort vacation. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StephM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews