We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT event!”

Wailele Polynesian Luau
Ranked #11 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Wailele Polynesian Luau dinner show, guests will embark on an exciting journey to the Polynesian Islands where dance was considered not just as a form of entertainment, but as a means of telling stories. Recognized for providing an award-winning experience, the luau is held oceanfront at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa and features dances and songs from old and modern Hawaii, Tahiti, Fiji, New Zealand (Maori), Tonga and Samoa. Highlights include the story of Pele (Goddess of Fire), Hi'ilave Hula Awana dedicated to Wailele (meaning waterfalls) and Maui's most extreme fire knife dance finale called "Siva Afi". The unforgettable evening of fun, culture and entertainment is complemented by a traditional dinner served buffer style and selection of beverages.
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT event!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a fabulous time on New Year's Eve! Once the doors opened, everything was well organized, from the seating, to pre-dinner drinks, entertainment, vendors, photographers and getting to/thru the buffet line . Although the premium seating had sold out prior to when we booked, I'm not sure there was a bad table/view there. The dancers were talented & entertaining, and the segments were just the right length to keep everyone's attention. It was nice to have the event "emceed" and explained so the audience would understand what each of the dances, songs, etc., signified.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TammiKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    64
    37
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Luau”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wonderful Christmas Day Luau! The food was excellent, the location was stunning, and the entertainment was brilliant--educational and beautiful. Also, wonderful live music and local crafts to peruse before and during dinner; we came home with two wonderful tiki's for our family.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Christmas Luau didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Premium seating was sold out weeks in advance, but our traditional seating was excellent. Our table was both near the stage and buffet. We were the second table to be directed to the buffet! Food was very good, as were the complimentary cocktails & wine. The entertainment exceeded our expectations. The host/mc was humorous, the dancers were great. The final fire sequence was very impressive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplySusan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, don't book this luau.”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I went into this luau with high expectations because of the terrific reviews on TripAdvisor. What a joke! The food was terrible - think bad hotel catering - and the show was overly commercialized and not authentic at all. If you're looking for a good time with good food and drink and authentic Hawaiian culture, do not book this luau!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We attended this luau with family and friends. We didn't have VIP seating but it didn't matter as the line moved quickly and there was plenty of seating. The food was fantastic and the show was entertaining! The drinks were tasty and constantly flowing. Our server was excellent and very attentive. My only negatives were that the parking was expensive and we were ushered out at 8PM.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Z06Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wailele Polynesian Luau also viewed

 

Been to Wailele Polynesian Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing