We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,288)
Filter reviews
1,288 results
Traveller rating
763
376
85
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
376
85
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kaanapali beach black rock shopping carts hula grill tower facing ocean view full kitchen underground parking abc store pineapple studio condo koi pond construction noise through vrbo bath unit north side daily maid service
Filter
Updating list...
926 - 931 of 1,288 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The exterior of both tower blocks are under extensive renovation and it is very noisy between 8am and 5pm on weekdays. This was not disclosed when we made our renovation but the management did refund the remainder of our money after one nights stay and we moved elsewhere. There is also a $12 per day parking fee. Note that Tower 1 overlooks Whalers Village and it is very noisy due to both the air conditioning units in the mall and the thousands of Mynah birds who nest in the hedge between Tower 1 and the mall. The room we stayed in was also very dated. All in all there are better places to stay in Ka'anapali.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Asterix406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

6/21/14

Aloha guests,

We want to acknowledge every past guest opinion & review.
Please note the date on the review; as outdated reviews may not apply any longer. In 2012, The Whaler completed over $30 million dollars and years of renovation. Our resort is in great shape and looks beautiful not to mention the perfect location.

Further, the use of interior room standards based upon AAA – 3 to 5 diamond guidelines, Aston at The Whaler recently earned a 3 diamond rating. This means the “in-house” rental program for the property maintains a level of consistency with cleanliness, interior quality, and guest service. In 2013, our internal guest satisfaction score was an annual average of 94.2% completely satisfied, and our rating on tripadvisor went from #26 to #8.

We realize that you have a choice in accommodations, and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mahalo nui loa, Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
1-866-321-2799

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with my wife and teenage son. The condo (1061) was VERY clean, decorated in an attractive, modern way, and the balcony looked south toward Lanai. We stayed for one week and put the kitchen to great use. It felt great to actually feel like we were at home, but in paradise at the same time. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maui other than in Kaanapali. The snorkling around black rock is phenomenal, spotting turtles everyday close to shore. The path along the beach was also nice for a morning run.

Room Tip: South facing in the South tower worked for us...Lanai was beautiful from our room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whistleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After spending several months looking for the best property on the island of Maui to host our 47 guests from all over the world for our wedding, we chose The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach and it was perfection! From the moment we arrived, the staff could not have been more kind and helpful to us and all of our guests. The front desk staff and concierge were extremely accommodating and ensured that each and every guest was well attended to no matter what the request. The concierge was extremely helpful on several occasions when planning excursions or simply arranging dinner reservations and transportation around the island. Each and every guest was extremely pleased with their spacious and clean accommodations. The rooms at this resort provide ample space for families of all sizes and
lanais with breathtaking views no matter where your room was situated. The property itself
was kept in immaculate condition with beautiful gardens and landscaping. The barbecues
for guest use were always kept in pristine condition and provided a great space for
everyone to get together in the evenings. The pool area was always kept clean and was
attended to by very kind staff offering coffee and lemonade to guests throughout the day.
With regards to the location of this property, I don't think there is anything better on the
whole island. This area of Ka'anapali beach provides a very wide stretch of soft sand beach
so that you never feel crowded. From here, you have a perfect view of black rock where in
less than a two minute walk you can do some amazing snorkeling. This is also a great
beach for swimming, mostly calm in the mornings with a few waves picking up in the
afternoon, adding a little excitement to the beach.
On the other side of The Whaler is Whalers Village, a perfect compliment to this resort and the Ka'anapali beach area with it's beautiful variety of shops and restaurants (I highly recommend dinner at Leilani's and frozen yogurt from Yogurt Land any time of the day or night). Another plus to this property is that it fronts the beautiful Ka'anapali Beach Walk, perfect for a relaxing walk of jog any time of the day. All of our guests had the highest of compliments for this property and many had made plans to return before they even left! I have been all over the island of Maui and viewed many different resorts and although there are many other beautiful properties, The Whaler is where we will always return as it hosts the best combination of amenities that one could ask for to have a truly memorable Maui vacation experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luvs2travel2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We just returned from our stay in unit 315 and had the most amazing stay. I would 100% recommend this unit to anyone!

Unit 315 is an ocean-view studio with a king size bed.

The unit is SUPER tidy and comes equipped with anything you might need ranging from dishes to pots and pans to a tea kettle to a coffee pot, flat screen tele, radio, DVD player, etc.

The unit is decorated island-style, so you definitely feel like you're on Maui when staying there.

As a whole, The Whaler was fabulous. It's in the heart of Ka'anapali Beach - in between the Westin/Whaler's Village and the Sheraton. There is pool/jacuzzi for your use, if the beach isn't your thing.

The activities desk (run by Beach Activities of Maui) was also very helpful.

I can't wait to return at some point.

Room Tip: You can visit www.whaler315.com to see availability for this specifc unit.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klmetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Whaler is made up of two towers of condominiums. We stayed in Tower One, in a gorgeously decorated studio with a marble bathroom, lovely little kitchen and a balcony with an ocean view. The beach is right at your feet, and the pool is lovely. Of course this is a condo, so no restaurants/bars/etc but you can stock up the fridge yourselves and do some laundry for a few quarters. The one BIG thing to be aware of is that there is a capital improvement project going on involving very loud jackhammers at 8:00 am. Allegedly the customers are forewarned about this, but our travel agent/the hotel most certainly did not inform us about it- but of course on Sat/Sun it is quiet. Other than the construction, my husband and I loved our stay T The Whaler, and having a whole little village and the beach steps away.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMH1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews