We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$379
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$412
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$436
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$496
US$480
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$278
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
733
366
83
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
366
83
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaanapali beachblack rockshopping cartshula grillocean viewtower facingfull kitchenunderground parkingabc storevillage shopping centerpremium roompineapplekoi pondstudio condoconstruction noisethrough vrbobedroom bath
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at the Whaler for close to a month in July. We have two young kids, 10 and 6. I write reviews for people with younger kids. First the location is awesome. Great beach access and right near Whaler Village shopping which is great. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and patios are very big. Overall, we were very happy with our stay. The beach in front and access to Black Rock is great. There were a few negatives from a families perspective. We purposely booked a ground floor unit so the kids could play on lawn. When we got there we were told no throwing balls of any sort on lawn, this was a disappointment. Management was constantly coming out and telling kids no ball play. Also, the pool is small, which is fine, but deep. The shallowist part is 4ft. Which is deep for younger kids. Also, no pool toys of any kind, not even toys to dive for. If your older, single or no kids all the rules work fine, but I am writing this to let families of young kids no the rules. Also, I heard older people complain a lot about kids at the pool being to loud, which from my view I never expeienced. For us, we always found lounge chairs and never had problems parking in garage. Overall, it is nice place and kaanapali is the best area and best beaches. Next time we would book at a hotel/condo with bigger and more kid friendly pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Riley008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Whaler for 20+ years, and it is still one of the best spots on the beach. Great location for shops/restaurants...little bit of a hike for groceries, but if you stock up or have a car it is easy.

The golf courses are nice, however pricey and over-rated. I am not a low handicap golfer and can break 100 on the courses. They also tend to have too many on the course and do not monitor the play...taking 5 hours some days to finish a round. Very pricey and won't give you any deals...even though they are not full at times.

The rooms at the Whaler are getting dated, they did a major reno on the exterior and it looks nice...hopefully last another 25 years! But the rooms depending on the unit you get is dated and some are in need of an overhaul. The Whaler needs to be on top of this more...there was mold down the garbage disposal causing a stink in the room...if you didn't know what it was you would have sworn it to be a sewage problem. Pillows are little cotton fluff if you rent from the Whaler, rent privately and you are taking a chance too...bring your own if you have trouble with bad pillows...or ask before you rent.

There are also TONS of children, and although they are supposed to monitored and watched, nobody enforces that rule, and the evenings at the pool are extremely loud and kids running/jumping on each other unsupervised at 9-10 yrs old. People also go down the minute the pool opens to save chairs for the day...even though it says towels will be removed after 30 minutes of no use...again nobody enforces the rules and the owners/regulars rule! :( BBQ's are especially at sunset hour lined up...maybe the condo association could look at adding one or two more to each site and that would solve the problem.

Otherwise a great property, great sound buildings, sound really doesn't travel and pretty quiet in the evenings.

I will return to Whaler time and time again! LOVE IT!

Room Tip: In the winter you want to be on the southside of the building and summer the north to see the sunsets from your Lanai.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and were really happy we found The Whaler. This is more of a condo feel, and it has all the amenities of home. It has a full kitchen and even has a washer and dryer on the premises. There is even a Safeway supermarket 7 min away, so you could buy all of your groceries, store them in the refrigerator in the room, cook them on the stove and or microwave, then have meals for the week. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could imagine....yes, there's a wine bottle opener as well. When you get there, you will be greeted by an already cut up pineapple, ready for enjoyment. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. Our view of the ocean was too great to describe. Every view of Maui is great. The Whaler also has free movies to rent and free tennis rackets and tennis balls to use. If you want a great place to stay on Maui, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.....totally full view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daddy1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We LOVE the Whaler!!! Best location on the Island! You can walk to shops and restaurants and is on an awesome beach...not the mention the killer view!!! The Whaler is our favorite place to stay when on Maui!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernatheart07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Amazing, room is clean. Have a nice kitchen set up: oven, dishwasher, dishes, sink, coffee machine, toaster, blender, frig. Complimentary whole pineapple and bottled water in frig.
They upgraded me to a room with a partial ocean view for free, totally sweet.
Free wireless Internet! And parking is only $12 a day as to some places I've stayed that charge $25 a day.
The bathroom has a marble countertop and there is a big walk-in closet.
Flat screen tv and the lanai has a table with chairs for eating outside as well as a lounge chair.
So far I am totally impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katvinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews