We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Whaler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Whaler. We've stayed there on two previous occasions and found it to be a good value for a property right on Kaanapali Beach. Rented an ocean view studio and found it to be clean and well kept up. The pool is small by hotel standards but adequate for adults. I think children would enjoy a pool with more activities like you find at the more upscale hotels. We really didn't require any special service but found the staff to be courteous and helpful. When we book an ocean view or ocean front room we like to leave the patio door open at night to listen to the sound of the waves. Unfortunately, if you room is on the south side of Tower 2 the fans running all night from the Hula Grill next door make it difficult to hear the ocean so book a room on the other side of Tower 2 or in Tower 1. All in all a very nice stay at a beach front condominium with great access to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: If you want to hear the ocean stay away from rooms on the south side of tower 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmarkhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Aloha,
Thank You for your visit. I like knowing your accommodations were clean and well kept. Equally, courteous and helpful staff makes or breaks a vacation; especially when things are not working as well as they should. We have reached out to our neighbors; the restaurants shops are helping to reduce the sound levels.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Staff super friendly and you always see them cleaning the interior and the grounds. The unit was comfortable but outdated. Bathroom not as clean as it should be, lots of dust around the tiles in the ceiling over the tub. Stayed in Tower 2 and originally reserved Garden View Studio but was upgraded to "Ocean View" Studio on the 5th floor. Can see the ocean but main view directly in front is of the rooftops of the shops at The Whalers Village shopping centre next door. Air conditioning from the shopping centre was very noisy, lots of trucks early morning so you couldn't enjoy leaving the doors of the lanai open or sitting out there at that time of the day. Hotel very, very conveniently located, right beside The Whalers Village shopping centre. Beach is nice, clean and no rocks, good for swimming and minutes from a great snorkel spot at Black Rock. Buses at the Village takes you to Lahaina Town and other places but I still recommend a car to see the whole island.

Room Tip: if staying in tower 2, stay on the inner side, facing tower 1. The noise from the rooftop A/C units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseLover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Aloha Nui,
Your very positive review highlights some of the key areas our team is working on. Friendly smiles and comfortable accommodations in a fantastic location are some of our top priorities. We are also working on reducing the noise levels from next door at Whaler’s Village. We have outstanding neighbors and we are really fortunate to be so close to all the shopping and restaurants. I am glad you pointed out the resort shuttle and buses. Both are excellent ways to get around and see all Kaanapali has to offer.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in #1102. The view from the wrap around lanai was incredible. One of the highlights of our stay in Maui was enjoying our coffee in the morning while watching the whales and sea turtles. The condo was spotless and spacious. We would highly recommend staying here. Everybody on staff at The Whaler was helpful and pleasant to deal with. We had no issues finding a chair by the pool or deck and even rented a lounge on the beach one day. We walked over to the Hula Grill next door for lunch, dinner and happy hour and shopped in the Whaler Shops right there. The condo and facility were everything the booking agent we used, Monte D. Fitts Realtors promised and more. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler914Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nicely furnished and clean. Great beach!!! It cost $40 per day to have an umbrella and chairs set up for you on the beach....but it was worth it. We also enjoyed the balcony. It was close to Whaler's Village so easy to walk to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Aloha and Thank You for the short and sweet review. Speaking of suites, the studios offer over 600 square feet of living area and a great lanai to enjoy morning coffee. In addition, our entire Aston team takes cleaning seriously. In fact, our Executive Housekeeper and her team are passionate about providing the cleanest units possible. Come back soon and at different times of the year to enjoy the beautiful weather and whales.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We did NOT rent from a private owner, we used a travel agent so we had the hotel room set up. The room was quite dated, which was manageable, BUT for the price we paid, I think we could have done a lot better. The bed was probably the worst bed I've slept on in a hotel. Both my husband and I woke up sore everyday.Our kitchette wasn't really sufficent for cooking a good meal, so that was a bit of waste.Our "garden view" overlooked the parking lot. The pool area was not nearly as nice as all the other hotels, but it was okay. The place where you get the towels also sells maui jim sunglasses. It was incredibly annoying be hassled to buy things when all we wanted was to get clean towels. If you want to get a chair for the beach it's VERY pricey, whereas other hotels farther down had better set ups so that you could see the beach nicely from the pool. Finally while we were there the garden was being done and smelled HORRIBLE everyday making it gross to sit at the pool in the morning. I personally was disappointed. I usually don't have so many bad things to say...but you can't win them all.

My disclaimer would be that it was a GREAT location and if you were renting from a private owner and saw photos of the unit you would be in prior then it might be totally different.

Would I go back to this beach and hawaii, YES, this hotel, nope!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiredtravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Aloha,
My heart sank when I read this review. How could this happen? What went wrong? To start, please accept our sincere apology for your disappointing experience and to all others who endured the smell that week. Here is what the rental program is going to do: first, I believe something needs to be given for our honeymooners to make up for lost time in Maui. Second, we have removed this unit from the rental program until the owner makes the required improvements. Third, we will share this experience with our employees so they truly understand why our guests are the most important part of our job. Last, I will encourage the landscape team not to use organic fertilizer again. With that said, I regret not having a chance to meet our guests prior to departure. Perhaps we could have made things right even if that meant calling the big box hotels to get a standard hotel room for our guests. We are better than this.

Mahalo Nui,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,209 reviews
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $420 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing