We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in unit 1257 (Tower 2)- Construction is complete!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Before I even start my review, I have to say we love the Whaler. We've stayed there 4 or 5 times. We love the South side of Tower 2 overlooking Whaler Village. We love staying on Ka'anapali Beach. No place is going to suit everyone, but the Whaler suits us perfectly. It's a condo. That means no room service, but you can fix your own breakfast, make sandwiches for picnics, and barbeque dinner when you don't feel like going out. It also means the pool is just a pool, no fancy water slides, no swim up bar...which tends to limit the number of shrieking children and drunken adults.

You can rent a unit from the Whaler or directly from the owner. When you use the Whaler you'll be assigned whatever unit is available when you arrive. We did that the first time we stayed, and loved our unit. Since then we've always rented from owners so we could get exactly what we want, and know our location in advance. The two towers are parallel to each other, so half of the units face the newly landscaped courtyard and pool. They also face each other. Tower 1 owners call their tower the quiet tower. The North side of Tower I faces Black Rock, a great snorkeling beach. I would suspect you'd need to be above the 5th or 6th floor though not to be looking directly into trees or the next hotel along the walkway. The North sides of both towers have little to no sun on their lanais. Tower 2 is next to the Whaler Village, a pleasant little shopping area. If you have a courtyard unit that will make no difference at all. If you have a unit on the South side, you'll have a view of trees until about the 4th or 5th floor. Above that, you'll have an ocean view, and look down on the shopping center. Personally, we think that's fun. We like hearing the music from the Hula Grill and special programs Whaler Village puts on, and we like the sun on our lanai (except during the summer when the sun is almost directly over the whaler). But you can hear the activity.

Enough of the Whaler in general and location of units in tower. You can bring up a floor plan on line. Unit 1257 is on the top floor of Tower 2 on the South side. It's a one bedroom, two bath unit. With the lanai, which is large enough for 2 lounges and a table with 4 chairs, there is over 1,000 sq.ft. of living area. There are floor to ceiling, wall to wall windows/doors in both the living room and bedroom. Both baths have shower/tub combinations, and the master also has a stacked washer/dryer. The water's hot, the pressure's good, and the towels are plush. Everything we need. The full kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glassware, utensils, and of course a dishwasher. Everything was exceptionally clean. While unit 1257 is not ocean front it is the very next unit, so you can see the both the ocean and the mountains from inside the living room and bedroom. There is no need to crane your neck for a glimpse. The furniture was comfortable, the owners were easy to work with, and responded quickly whenever we had a question. If you're interested in a condo on Ka'anapali, This particular unit has a small work area that is all set up to plug in your own laptop. I would highly recommend this unit. We found this unit through VRBO, and it's their listing #112544. All the descriptions were accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank mmfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 954 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

We got this condo through VRBO, vacation rental by owner, on the internet. It was our first time so I had nightmares about unit 411 Tower 1 being dirty and old. It was perfect and the owner was very easy to deal with. It was clean and I am picky about cleanliness. The kitchen was more stocked than my own at home. My 90 year old mother was with us and the condo was very accessable. Parking was next to the elevator and the elevator was a short walk from our room. The fold out bed in the living room she said was comfortable.
The washer and dryer were handy and the view of the ocean and pool were awesome. There were lots of chairs on the huge balcony. We would definitely stay there again. The listing on VRBO was 220044 Luxury Living. Mahalo Colleen

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 503teacher503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Unlike the larger, fancier resorts found on Kaanapali, which tend to be full of crowds, The Whaler offers some real peace and quiet.

We rented two units from the same owner -- a one bedroom unit at 720 and a studio unit at 814. Both were amazing. In fact, the bellman commented on how we ended up with some of the nicest rooms he has ever seen at the resort. Both had new everything with state of the art televisions and appliances. I stayed in unit 720 and my in-laws were in 814. The bed in 720 was so comfortable, it was tough to get out of bed in the morning! The unit had umbrellas, beach chairs, and snorkeling equipment available. There was also every utensil you could imagine needing in a condo, including an espresso machine. I would definitely rent these units again and highly recommend them to anyone.

The pool area is nice and clean. The water is comfortable. In addition to the regular loungers, there are also shaded and padded loungers available for free at the pool-- you just need to be sure to reserve them in advance by putting your name down at the towl counter. I didn't discover this until the day before we left -- I thought you had to pay! There are also shaded loungers and umbrellas available for use at the beach for a fee.

The BBQs were a nice convenience. However, watch out that there can be a short wait if you plan to use them around 6 pm. Of course, waiting is no problem because you have some nice people to chat with while you watch the Maui sunset. Not a bad way to spend an evening.

The closeness to Whalers Village is a huge asset. You can get takeout food from any of the restaurants if you want to eat on your patio or go to the food court in the Whalers Village for a quick bite.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We just completed our stay at the Whaler and had a great time. The condo we were staying in (tower 2 , 2 bedroom, ocean front, 9th floor) was recently renovated and was very nice. The construction on the courtyard is within a week of completion and was of no issue to us and looks gorgeous. The staff was friendly, price reasonable compared to other area condos and hotels we researched.

It's hard to beat the location. The beach is one of the best in the world, the pool is a nice alternative, good gym, shopping right next door, world class golf across the street, and good restaurants within walking distance.

Do plan on going to Costco on your way from airport to stock up on food and staples, though there are 2 grocery stores within 5 minutes drive of the condo. We used the bbq area (gas) several times and made for a great picnic by the ocean.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, but I have heard not all the condo's are renovated so be specific on your requests.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mainlebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My wife two children (6 & 3) and I just returned from a great vacation at the Whaler on Maui! Yes, the courtyard and parking garage are under construction (scheduled to complete in 7/09), but with a room that doesn't overlook the courtyard, you won't have a problem. We only noticed the construction when we arrived and when we departed. Most of our time was spent at the perfect Kaanapali beach and the great reastruants and shops near by. Our second stay in unit 159 and we will be back! A ground floor condo with a full kitchen and easy beach access is perfect for a family with young children.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,343 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
6.5 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $417 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing