We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1115 was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have stayed in Ka'anapali many times over the years and The Whaler is the only place we plan on staying in the future. Its proximity to Black Rock and to Whaler's Village was why we booked this particular condo. Views were awesome and the convenience to the beach walk for our morning walks was great. Unit 1115 was the perfect studio for my husband and I. The views were awesome....golf course to our left and pool and beach to our right, making sunset viewing on the lanai one of our favorite activities. The owners provided beach chairs, umbrella, and snorkel gear and the gift basket when we arrived was very considerate. Every single staff member at The Whaler was friendly and helpful, starting with the parking attendant, to the guys who handed out the beach towels. We just can't say enough about this wonderful condo. Book it if you want a place to chill and relax when on Maui.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Aloha Julatta! We are thrilled to hear that your third vacation here at The Whaler was a wonderful experience. It is also fantastic to hear that our staff provided you with great service, and that your needs were met. We hope to welcome you again soon, and invite you to book directly with Aston Hotels & Resorts in the future! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Please don't book these condos thinking you are staying at a hotel. These are privately owned units located perfectly on Kaanapali Beach. From the moment you enter the lobby you will be greeted with the Aloha Spirit that truly is present in Maui. The staff here is friendly, helpful and ready to help in any way they can. My resent stay was in 559 in tower 2. I booked privately with the owner and was more than impressed with the unit. Absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable, well appointed large one bedroom with an amazing view from the large lanai. You are a 2 minute walk to Whalers Village and close to everything in West Maui. When it comes to staying in a condo rather than a hotel, The Whaler is your best choice. Most of the hotels in the area are extremely crowded and the rooms are tiny, not to mention the high cost per night.

There is only one downside to this property and it is the pool. It is very small for the size of the property and not suited for small children. A word of advice to parents, please keep an eye on your kids because the depth of the pool is misleading the so called 4 foot section is actually over 5 feet. The management here at the Whaler should correct this immediately or provide floats free of charge for families. This is truly the only drawback at The Whaler. The BBQ areas are fantastic, the gym is great, plenty of parking and the views are breathtaking!

I will continue to stay here whenever I visit Maui, you will feel like you are in your own home here and will enjoy your vacation even more. Book premium rooms, because they are updated and get an ocean view, or a garden view both offer excellent views of the ocean.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank connie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We spent three days at the Whaler for our anniversary and found the accommodation to be quite pleasant and relaxing. Easy to find and located right next to Whaler's Village, this property does not suffer from the feeling of overpopulation that many other properties along Kaanapali have fallen prey to.

There really is not a bad room on the property, as the intimate design of the two Towers create an experience where every room is located with either an excellent view or excellent proximity to amenities. Our unit, 170, was well appointed with traditional Hawaiian decor, and housekeeping staff was always prompt and thorough. We liked the ground floor location for easy access in and out, the pleasant and spacious Lanai, the complimentary guest laundry and of course, the convenience of having a kitchen so we could do some of our own cooking.

The pool area was small, but again clean and well attended. Our only significant disappointment was the fitness center… One of the primary reasons we had booked this property. Located in the basement of one of the towers, it was dimly lit, and felt claustrophobic and dank. Not the way I want to spend my time when in paradise. Would've been nice to see this facility on the ground level where people could appreciate some sunlight and pretty views.

Overall, if you are a fan of the Kaanapali region in Maui, this property offers all the amenities of the larger resorts with a much more intimate and peaceful feel. The simplistic and beautiful grounds provide a spacious complement to the navigable property. Views of Lana'i and Molokai will greet you each day.

If you've traveled to Maui and not stayed in Kihei or Wailea, you are missing out. Check out of their parts of the island to get a more traditional Hawaiian feel it move away from the big resorts, where in the least, take a day trip in your car.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Soni_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Aloha Soni_17! Thank you for your review, and for spending your anniversary celebration with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our ideal location, as well as your comfortable accommodations and our friendly and helpful staff. However, we do appreciate your honest feedback regarding our fitness center, and apologize for any disappointment you experienced. We are committed to continually improving our services and meeting the needs of our guests, and your review will help us to do so. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to our peaceful corner of paradise again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I can't say enough about our say in July in the Penthouse Condo 1213. This condo has a murphy bed that pulls down but there is plenty of room for a dining table, sofa, desk, recliner, etc. Everything was clean and was supplied with everything you would ever need to cook, etc. Very clean and the staff was wonderful. The views from the balcony were tremendous. You had a view of the mountains and the ocean and Lanai. There are also free laundry facilities at the end of each hall along with a nice pool, tennis, work-out room, etc. Plenty to do and a great location.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Aloha Carol! Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you loved your penthouse view, accommodations, and amenities. It would be our pleasure to be your vacation home away from home again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We recently stayed at the whaler in a one bedroom condo. Very nice property and I loved the fact that we had a full kitchen, made it easier to go out and buy some groceries for the kids for breakfast and lunch. That way we enjoyed a nice dinner out each evening. We will be staying at the Whaler from now on!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank matjas922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that your personal kitchen, ideal location, and dining options enhanced the quality of your vacation. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $422 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing