We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Whaler!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I booked our Maui vacation at The Whaler through the Aston website. Upon arrival I was impressed with the beautiful landscaping, professional and personable front desk staff, and accommodation that exceeded our expectations...loved the huge wrap around lanais! Travelers who enjoy picnics, be sure to check out the oceanfront granite picnic tables and BBQ's at The Whaler...perfect beachfront setting to enjoy lunch, phenomenal view of the ocean, and if you're lucky even live music wafting over from the Hula Grill Restaurant. Enjoyed ourselves immensely...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 864 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

the front desk does not give you the Aloha welcome! We have been staying at the Whater for 10 years and if not for all the other great things I would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGM, Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Thank you for taking my phone call and we are truly sorry that we did not extend our sincere Aloha Welcome on arrival or throughout your stay at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. Please accept our apology and be assured that we are following through with our team to learn from your comments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I may provide personal assistance in your future reservation and impressions of The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach.

General Manager, Aston Hotels & Resorts
The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach
808-661-6000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I have to remind myself that this is not a review for Maui, but rather a review for the Whaler. :) Maui is obviously amazing and would score off the charts if I could give the island a review. The Whaler proved to be a wonderful home base for my husband and I, as we explored the island of Maui. The service staff we encountered was always very friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and the pool was well tended. While the pool is small, my husband and I enjoyed the fact that it is literally right on the beach. We felt like our personal items were nice and safe in the enclosed area of the pool while we went in the ocean or down the path to lunch.

We stayed in 1170, which had an ocean view as well as a great view of the mountains. I thoroughly enjoyed the over-sized porch we had. After each daily adventure, it was nice to sit on the porch, watching the daylight hours wind down on one side and almost always a rainbow shining through the clouds on the other. Our room was a 1 bed, 2 bath condo. We rented directly from the owner as he is a family friend. The rooms were spacious, had all the supplies we needed, and very immaculate. I will say that the bathrooms and kitchen were a bit dated, but that did not affect the functionality in any way. Honestly, we spent most of our time outdoors, enjoying the island, so a little datedness did not bother us. We also appreciated the in-unit washer and dryer. I'm not sure if this is a feature all the units have.

We also felt that the Whaler provided a nice central location, not only on Kaanapali, but for everything else in Maui as well. We spent many nights in Lahaina or Kapalua, both of which are just a short drive down the highway. Getting to the airport and the Pa'ia area only took us 35 minutes.

Overall, Kaanapali beach is a great place to stay while in Maui and the Whaler is a great deal for such a prime location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed at The Whaler 9-3 through 9-10. We had an absolutely fabulous time. We were on the 9th floor (915), and we had an excellent oceanview room, not to be mistaken with ocean front, but you were in Maui so it was still really really nice!.. Had a great time at the hot tub and pool area. This condo is situated really close to the beach so you can do both. Great Sunsets, go to Hula grill for 3-5pm happy hour, mai tais were excellent and they have music. We snorkeled at the local Sherton black rock which was within walking distance. Loved Maui, Would definitely book at The Whaler again! oh please note that upon our departure we were told they were going to start renovating the condos, so call them up to see when they are finished. I'm told they will be starting heavy construction on all the planter areas soon! The other downside was they charged $12.00 a day for parking but I guess all Hawaii Hotels do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank really4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

After searching for bargains in this expensive area we were pleased with our rental condo in The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. The location was 5 Star, right on the main strip, between the Whaler Village shopping center and the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. Great views of Black Rock. We turned a large one BR into an adequate 2 BR by utilizing the owner's murphy bed & rollaway for our teenage sons. There are great grills and tables directly adjacent to the beach. Lot's of restaurants just a few steps away. Pool & spa at these twin buildings are a bit small but alright. (shhh, we tried the Hyatt's pool/spa once.) There was one other condo building called Kaanapali Alii which appears newer just 2 buildings away. We found the rentals on the VRBO website. I think many of the owners will work with you on price too. Enjoy Hawaii!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNewtownSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.0 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $414 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing