We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Great Value!”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and 6 yo Son recently stayed at the Aina Nalu. We booked through Costco/travel.com and received a good rate. Over all we were happy with our stay and felt it was a good value, just a few little things but I feel people should know about.

We knew before booking about the parking fee. Before we arrived we had decided to park on the street, but once we arrived we payed the fee. I didn't feel like it was too much, but they should just add it to the cost of the room, most people rent cars while visiting Maui. We stayed in a 1 bed 1 bath room, that was easy to access from the parking lot. It was quiet and comfortable. It had all the recent upgrades and loved having the washer/dryer, more than I thought. We were receiving daily maid service until about the middle of the week, then nothing. I don't mind washing the bath towels, but not getting more bath soap, dish soap was not convienent. I asked the front desk if we could have maid service come to our room and they said they just changed their policy and no maid service would be available going forward for any guest. The front desk woman said they did a survey and the majority of the feed back was to limit interuptions from staff. That is fine, but I feel like they should have told guests about this change and provided us with the information about how to get more supplies, which they were more than willing to drop off in our room when needed.

We also had a light bulb out the day we arrived, above the Bathroom sink, we contacted the office and they dropped off a new bulb, which did not fit. So, we called back and they sent the service guys, turned out the fixture was a little loose. I also had to wash the bath mat that was provided under the bathroom sink, it was dirty when we arrived. I do have to say that they need to deep clean the bathroom showers more often. I have read other reviews saying the shower walls are slimmy, yes they are and this isn't just slim but moldy, which can be harmful to guest and employees, the management needs to work on this.

I loved the Salt water Pool and spa, beautiful and nice to relax by before bed. We did not use the grills, but cooked most of our dinners in the Condo. My husband is a Chef and was able to cook some amazing meals with the kitchen supplies provided. I love the location in Lahaina. We easily could walk to front street to eat and shop. It was great for our 8 AM Whale Watching trip with Trilogy that left from the Light House, just four blocks away. Despite the few issues, we would stay here again. The value compared with other Condo's on the island is outstanding. It isn't the Luxury resort but it isn't the Budget Inn. We were comfortable and able to get where we wanted easily and stayed with in budget enough to enjoy doing a few extra things!!

Room Tip: You can email the management before arriving (would do it at least a month before) to request a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandasavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 573 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel condo with some friends on a trip to Maui for a friends wedding. This place was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo. Our hotel had two full baths, kitchen and a washer/dryer which came in handy when we wanted to wash our bathing suits. Another bonus was the safe inside the room. I felt comfortable to lock up my valuables while we were gone. Each room has an air conditioner which is nice to clear out the humidity. The hotel grounds had 2 pools which were clean and had very friendly staff. It is within walking distance to Front Street shops and restaurants in Lahaina and close to Honoapilani Hwy for easy access to get around the island. I would definitely stay back here on a future trip to Maui. This hotel is both beautiful and affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerlily_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in the Aina-Nalu Ginger Condo section. Wow what a gorgeous place. If ever we return to Maui (which I pray we do) this is definately the place I would love to stay. Don't know if Marlon & Luis is still there but they were great. Beautiful grounds, beautiful condo -- who could ask for anything more.

The only negative to this trip was we were waken by a rooster really early in the morning. They obviously live close by. We were moved close by the pool and we did not have that problem any longer. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabby2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had stayed at another Outrigger property on the Big Island and had a great experience, so I decided to try the Outrigger Aina Nalu in Lahaina. Although the property is well maintained with lush vegetation, the studio was a bit disappointing. It had washer-drier hook-ups, but no washer or drier. The Big Island property did. And the Aina Nalu did not have a coin-operated laundromat on site. You had to go to a laundromat a few miles away. But the big sticking point was the $15 per night they charged you to park. When I checked out, I noticed the charge and tried to contest it. After all, it wasn't on my reservation confirmation. The clerk showed me that pages into the website, it was there buried in the fine print. I told her that was nickel and diming me, but it fell on deaf ears. Most other hotels where I've stayed that do have a parking charge print it up front and also on your confirmation so you're not surprised. She said it really wasn't the hotel's parking lot, anyway. They were just passing along the charges from a third party that actually owned the lot. Yet the parking pass and everything else related to the parking lot only had Aina Nalu on it. It didn't have another company's name. And the lot ran right up to the doors of the rooms without any delineation. There also was little on-street parking. I would NOT stay here again just because of what I consider to be somewhat deceptive advertising.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, period, unless you want to fork over another $15 per night for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was great , price was good , they kept the rooms well stocked with T.P paper towels and other small stuff . If i ran out of shampoo they had it on hand. it was close to town. Every thing in walking distance . On the water frount the eateries had menu's on the out side so you could see the food and the $ amount before you went in. I had a great time. The only problem i ran into at the resort is they did not have enough loungers around the pools. and the ones they did have the vistors marked there loungers earley in the day and saved them alday long . other then that I had a Blast. sunny and bright all the time in the 80's penny

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
13.4 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
6.9 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
6.0 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,210 reviews
21.4 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $239 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing