We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Makai Adventures
from US$195.59
More Info
from US$218.60
More Info
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveller rating
1,209
37
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,209
37
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching smaller boat great whale whale activity comfortable boat male whales small group see whales captain kevin private charter great trip whale season whale watches highly recommend this tour once in a lifetime amazing experience hour trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021

This was my 3rd trip with Makai Adventures and I was completely satisfied with the experience overall.

Date of experience: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Resort690649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kainani S, Manager at Makai Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo nui for choosing us over and over again! We look forward to having you back onboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2021

This boat held 12 people allowing great viewing and the ability to move to whale sittings easily. The captain and the marine expert were extremely knowledgeable providing excellent information and answering all questions
.

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kainani S, Manager at Makai Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear you loved the experience and all of the information. Thank you for choosing Makai Adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2021

We have now been twice to Maui in February and have choose Makai adventures to go whale watching each time. I love that it’s a smaller boat with less people than most. We saw lots of whales on each trip. Friendly guides. Great time!

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank melaniepalm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kainani S, Manager at Makai Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for making us a part of your Maui vacation. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2021

This is the first time I have visited Maui during whale watching season. With late January being an Ideal time, a whale watch excursion was a must this trip. You have a number of options available and doing some diligent research will help you choose wisely. We all want that spectacular photo, or even a close-up encounter (mugging) with these magnificent creatures. Fortunately, my friend picked this tour with Makai Adventures. It exceeded all expectations on a number of levels.

Their 2 Hour “Small-group Whale Watching Adventure” has five departure times each day. We booked the 9:00 AM slot with our party of four, and luckily had a family group of eight with young children, join us to fill the boat’s now maximum of twelve. We made sure to get there plenty early, as parking gets filled up pretty quick. You may have to park in the paid lots behind the shops. Follow their recommendation of getting there 20-30 minutes before departure.

They followed covid-19 protocol, by requiring masks, hand sanitizer at the booth, and a thorough cleaning of the boat between tours. Once on board, we chose the padded seats with plastic bins under to store purses, hats, jackets, whatever. Plenty of room!! Captain Sergio and Naturalist Gina are total pros, and we had fine weather to boot. Gina showed the school aged kids a model of the humpback whale and gave us an overview of behaviors that we might observe. This V-hull boat cuts thru the chop with inboard power that left the rafting type boats well behind. The smooth, fast, & dry ride, made for a way better experience.

It wasn’t long before we got to see tails fluking, breeching, dorsal slapping, and we even encountered a pod of an endangered dolphin species that gave an amazing show as well. There are strict rules that must be followed as all boats just can’t drive up on a spouting whale. Captain Sergio would get us to a primo spot and cut the engine. This paid off many times. We were able to move easily about to get photos/videos on both sides of the boat. They dropped the hydrophone over to hear the whale songs. Everyone in our group enjoyed this tour immensely. I will use them in the future. Highly recommended.

PROS-Why pick Makai.

Comfort: All in our group are over sixty. I did inflatable boats before, not again!

Ease of viewing: Getting to both sides for photos/videos.

Camera use: Didn’t have to worry about digital camera getting wet.

Amenities: Chilled water, yes! Didn’t need to use the onboard head, but It’s there.

Professionalism: Sergio & Gina exemplify such and were deserving of the gratuity.

Safety: From covid-19, to on the water briefing, and the condition of the boat, A+.

Information: Their website is one of the best. Lots of information, easy to navigate.

Value: You can spend less and regret that decision all the way on your flight home.

CONS- NONE!!

Mahalo.

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank maitaimike2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kainani S, Manager at Makai Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

We know you have like a million options when it comes to choosing a whale watching tour and we are so stoked you took a chance with us and loved it! Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. It puts huge smiles on all of our faces and reminds us that sharing in this excitement is exactly why we love what we do! Looking forward to having you back onboard sooner than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021

Our crew was great - and we lost count of the number of whales that we saw. Fantastic trip - I highly recommend Makai out of Lahaina!

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank RichDTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews