We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Surfing Program on Oahu!”

Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School
Ranked #2 of 54 Tours in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncle Bryan Suratt presents, Sunset Suratt Surf Academy. Located on the North Shore of Oahu, home of Hawaii's most famous surf spots, Uncle Bryan prides himself on having the best trained surf instructors in Hawaii. All of our instructors are pro-level surfers themselves. Our surf school develops skills for longboard, short board, and stand-up paddle surfing. We take 6-month-old babies and adults in their 70s out for their very first time! Our surf lessons are for all ages and all levels, we teach surfers from beginners to pros. Sunset Suratt Surf Academy's classrooms are in the ocean from Sunset beach to Pipeline to Haleiwa, for a safe, guided hands on experience in the world of surfing. "It will be the most rewarding and thrilling gift that you can give to yourself or a loved one. A cherished experience of a lifetime. GO FOR IT!"Looking for a surfboard to rent while on the North Shore? Look no further. We got 'em—from shortboards to longboards to stand-up paddle boards! Sunset Suratt offers quality surfboard rentals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oswego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Surfing Program on Oahu!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our group included my wife and me, our 10 yr old son, 13 yr old daughter, and my 69 yr old father. The enthusiastic instructors (Joel, Jake, and Kilani) were committed to providing an enjoyable experience for all of us. The land and water instruction were easy to understand, and the instructors provided coaching and encouragement throughout all of our rides. They were great with our kids, too!

All 5 of us had a fantastic time! We always felt very safe, and with the 3 instructors for our group of 5, there was plenty of individual attention. The location was perfect - nice long rides on waves that weren't too big. The area was not very crowded, either.

We took another set of surfing lessons from a group in Waikiki, and felt that Uncle Bryan's was a far superior experience. We should've gone back to the North Shore for that second set of lessons!

We would recommend Uncle Bryan's to anyone visiting the island - we feel it's a "must-do" activity if you're on Oahu!

A few notes: We bought the picture package and were very satisfied. Excellent high quality shots of everyone. Payment for the lessons and photos is cash only at the beach, unless you pay online ahead of time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    25
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Best surf school on Oahu! They love what they do, and care about each and every student.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I could write a book on the incredible experience my husband and I had with Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School but I'll try to keep it short. We initially scheduled 2 semi-private surf lessons but became so hooked that we added a 3rd. The entire Sunset Suratt team is kind, generous, and incredibly knowledgeable; they create an amazingly fun and comfortable atmosphere to learn in. No matter where you're staying on Oahu - close to the North Shore or not (we stayed in Waikiki and rented a car to make the drive up each morning - it's a beautiful drive!) - this is where you want to learn how to surf. Their goals are always safety, understanding what you're doing and how to do things properly, and having a good time.
Our instructor, Christian, gave us his undivided attention during the entire lesson and knew exactly what went wrong/what went well/what we could do better/what we could try next after every wave we caught while also being really laid back and fun. We enjoyed every second of the experience. Also, make sure you ask for pictures - Heath is an incredible photographer and captures a lot of amazing moments and memories.
Mahalo nui loa!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
1 review
“Great People.”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The teachers of the school were great. They made the experience amazing eventhough the weather was a bit off. The area was great for learning and there was a variatey of waves to try. there were lots of instructors for our small group so we got lots of opportunity to ride.
Thanks I had alot of fun

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who would have thought a surfing lession could have been so much fun”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and a friend and I just took a lesson with Uncle Bryan and what an incredible good time. They took us out to a great place where the rides were long and terrific for beginners. We are all over 50 and with the awesome instructors Skyler and Connor, were able to feel like kids again and we all actually surfed many waves. These guys went out of our way to make sure we had fun and even made the physical aspects of paddling easier for they would literally tow us back out after catching a wave. It was safe, fun and a great time! We are thinking about doing it again in a couple of days and will recommend it to anyone! Thanks Skyler, Connor and Uncle Bryan!!

The Hills and the Smiths

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland
2 reviews
“Excellent service, friendly staff, Skylar and Conner are great with rookies!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

These guys were awesome! We had a wonderful time! From your Northern California group. Thank You!

Helpful?
Thank tallguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing