We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
577
155
49
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
155
49
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool bar harbor club nautical theme bottled water cookies irish pub free laundry resort fee harbor view room guest pantry hot chocolate corner suite west st sister hotel in town keurig machine loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

this has been the 5th year in a row that we have stayed at The West Street Hotel. The hotel is impeccable, service exceptionable, location beautiful and they are dog friendly. Cannot say enough about all of the staff. Thanks again West Street for a great vacation.

Room tip: Ocean Front Balcony is wonderful.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infuse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear infuse01,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you experienced great service, the great location, and the great views from our hotel. We take pride in providing great service to all of our guests and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that we work very hard to provide.

We look forward to your return and providing all of the same great services.

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed two nights for a reunion with friends. We all loved the tasteful nautical styled decor and the convenient location of the hotel. We discovered a number of excellent shops and restaurants all within close proximity. Our fourth floor rooms had nice patios with harbour views and we appreciated the pantry offerings on our floor. The staff were all very helpful and accommodating. One chap that observed me looking for ice noted that there wasn't any on our floor but he very promptly delivered it to the room. The reason I am only giving the hotel the average rating is the poor housekeeping. Our rooms were clean on arrival but were not vacuumed or even surface cleaned after the first night. We also ran out of toilet paper and had to contact the front desk. When you pay over $400 a night I think it is very reasonable to expect cleanliness. More attention should be expended in this area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Hgcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Heagc,

Please accept my sincere apology for us not delivering the normal excellent and accommodating high level of customer service our guests have come to expect. We never want our guests to be unhappy and enjoy doing whatever it takes to makes things right for them.

We will be sure to take your feedback and use it for consideration when discussing how we may improve. Specifically, we will discuss your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room with our housekeeping team to ensure our normally high standards are being met.

I look forward to being able to personally welcome you back if you chose to return for another visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a Single room (king with sofa bed). The hotel was very clean and tastefully decorated. The room was a bit tight for 4 people, however, we enjoyed the location in town and we able to walk nearly everywhere.

The Bar Harbor Club was a nice amenity. We used the pool, hot tub and sand tennis courts. Only wished that the weather was a bit warmer! Pack jeans and a coat for the evenings! We also made use of the food burning fire place in the lobby at the end of the night while consuming the complimentary coffee and Hershey kisses. We would definitely recommend this place to other families.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KandaceD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Kandace D,

The title of your review says it all, we are so happy that you think very highly of The West Street Hotel. I think that you have highlighted all of the great amenities and services offered by the hotel and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed a great Maine hospitality experience.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area that The West Street Hotel will be the hotel of choice!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

This place was amazing!! I didn't want to leave!! I fell in love with the Ocean and the scenery and the people there were nice, the hotel was really nice, I loved all the little shopping stores on the streets. It all was just wonderful!! No where in the world can beat this place!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Rachel G,

We appreciate the wonderful review, and we are pleased to read about your great experience while at the West Street Hotel. Our guests have access to many great amenities and great views on property- as mentioned in your review. We thank you for your kind words regarding your stay!

If your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Our family of four (two kids, ages 7 & 8) stayed at The West Street Hotel for 3 nights in July 2017 and had a wonderful experience. First, the location is fantastic and we loved the view of the harbor from our balcony. I loved that every floor had a pantry that provided coffee, tea, bottled water, and lights snacks throughout the day. Each floor also had guest laundry, which is crucial when traveling with kids! The use of the laundry is included with your stay, and the front desk provides detergent for you to use. The staff was professional, warm, and hospitable. To use the rooftop pool, you need to be over 18 years old but that wasn't a deal breaker for us because they have a sister property across the street (Harborside) and the pools are family-friendly there. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other families. We had such a wonderful experience here that we are definitely looking into other Opal properties to stay at in the future.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JeannieSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear JeannieSM,

We appreciate the wonderful review, and we are pleased to read about your great experience while at the West Street Hotel. Our guests have access to many great amenities and great views on property- as mentioned in your review. We thank you for your kind words regarding your stay!

If your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews