We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to vacation”
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to vacation”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I (senior citizins barely) stayed here for our second time but not our last. The room was very spacious and lovely. The proprieters were very friendly and helpfull during our visit. They have two young girls Mia and Zoey who sometimes interact with the guests and are very delightful. The Inn is quite close to the sea front where whale watches and other cruises including a sailing vessel are. I would recommend this place to stay for all ages. The area ammentities make this the place to visit. There is Cadilac Mountain and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: No matter what your choice is you will not be disappointed. Check out all the rooms based on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainman413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    98
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
82
165
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a wonderful way to experience Bar Harbor. I travelled with my husband, daughter and my father. The location is perfect for strolling around Bar Harbor and checking out all the shops and restaurants. The owners and staff are very helpful and knowledgable and really go out of the way to assist you. Room 207 is a beautiful suite with more than enough room and comy bed. My father stayed in the properties other building in a very nice studio complete with small kitchen and sink. Nice to have coffee fresh brewed and waiting for you in the morning!

Room Tip: Be sure to say Hi to Marshmallow - the resident cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamayagy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubbock,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Very friendly staff. Nice rooms. Good location. Extremely clean. Great value for a really nice hotel in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cingidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I won't repeat what other people have said other than to reiterate that Quimby House remains my favorite place to go in Bar Harbor. I stayed there a few years ago and the satisfaction remains high. Tim, the owner, even remembered me from before and that I wasn't traveling with my husband at the time. My recommendation would be to get a room in the back or in the Annex if you can - then you can leave your windows open for fresh air without the noise - Cottage Street can be a little busy even late into the night. Also, for people with pet allergies, they do have a cat and dog (both very friendly - watch out for the cat hiding out under your car when you leave in the morning). Generally they stay downstairs but have been seen wandering in the lobby. I never saw them upstairs in the guest rooms/halls. Beds are a bit soft for our liking - that fact and being unable to open our windows due to noise were the reasons for my rating on sleep quality. We couldn't hear anything from the other rooms despite the hotel being full. We did a bedbug check - NO signs of them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Quimby House Inn provided us a nice room with a great location. We stayed in Room 106, which had a living room and a bedroom that were quite nice This is not a B&B, so no breakfast, but that was fine as we loved Jordan’s Restaurant just down the block. And one morning we rented bikes just down the block to go to the Carriage Trails. We could walk into town at night as we were 3 blocks from all the action, and immediately to either side of us on Cottage Street were also restaurants and shops. We booked our two –days here only about 3 weeks in advance, and so many other places higher up on TripAdvisor were booked; Quimby only had the one room that we took. Very glad we did. We had considered some of the hotels that were not right in Bar Harbor, and it would NOT have been the same to have to drive into town; location of Quimby is fantastic. At the start of our search we had even considered the Hampton Inn Ellsworth based upon its good reviews, but Ellsworth is far from Bar Harbor, and that Hampton we saw as we drove past is on a highway behind a Walgreen’s; not quite a romantic getaway locale.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
360 reviews
0.8 km away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
4.3 km away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Property: Quimby House Inn
Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price range (per night): $163 - $333
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing