We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early!”
Review of Pier 39

Pier 39
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
PIER 39 Attraction Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From amazing views and a sea of sea lions to chowder bread bowls and California wines, your visit to San Francisco starts at PIER 39. Kick off your visit by exploring two levels of dining, entertainment, shopping and attractions, all surrounded by unbeatable views of the city and the bay. Take it from the world famous sea lions: a visit to San Francisco starts at The PIER.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Good vibes and big selection of places to eat but gets very busy by early afternoon so best in morning! Watching sea lions play is fun!

Thank wildm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor, and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lions"
in 3,718 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 462 reviews
"street performers"
in 325 reviews
"seafood"
in 284 reviews
"clam chowder"
in 200 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 150 reviews
"walk around"
in 153 reviews
"alcatraz island"
in 125 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 269 reviews
"carousel"
in 384 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 567 reviews
"tourists"
in 776 reviews
"bay"
in 822 reviews
"aquarium"
in 487 reviews
"sf"
in 622 reviews
"stroll"
in 263 reviews
"fishermans"
in 156 reviews
Filter

329 - 333 of 17,597 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

2 stories of shopping and eating. Parking garage located right at pier if needed ($9 per hour/max $45). We ate at Pier Market, went to the Aquarium, shopped in a few stores, visited the Sea Lions, and watched the sunset. Gorgeous views from upper and lower level. Great shot of Alcatraz. Walk along the Bay. Plenty of souvenirs.

Thank FamilyTraveler623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor! It is great hearing that you enjoyed dining at Pier Market and visiting Aquarium of the Bay as well. The sea lions are wonderful, aren't they? We hope you had a great time in San Francisco and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Plenty of shops. From coffee to cocckies and doughnuts or seafood and pizza. Dont need to spend more than a half day here but it can easily keep you entertained all day. Must visit if your in san francisco.

Thank cgreyvenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed a day of fun and sweet treats by the bay with us! Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We spent at least half an hour just watching the sea lions. Who cares about the smell!!?? Lots of restaurants to choose from, lots of stores and stuff to wander around and do. Great for families!

Thank dianedV7564TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with the beloved sea lions during your visit to PIER 39! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more fun by the bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had 12:30 ferry tickets to Alcatraz Island which departs from Pier 33. We stopped in at Pier 39 just to see the seals and that was all that was worth seeing there. It was so touristy and schlocky; we had no interest in being there any longer than that.

Thank cdroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing