We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice green space - gardens may be stretching it”

Yerba Buena Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
San Francisco Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #70 of 716 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five acres of shade trees and murmuring fountains which adjoin the Moscone Convention Center.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The is a pleasant green space just opposite the SFMOMA (which is excellent). There were working fountains and not too much sign of the construction which seemed to ruin past reviewers experiences here. The memorial to Martin Luther King is the highlight of the 'gardens'. There are some interesting aspects to the green space but I wouldn't really consider them gardens as such. It is a very pleasant and relaxing area to get away from the traffic though.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"green space"
in 13 reviews
"martin luther king"
in 12 reviews
"mlk memorial"
in 10 reviews
"moscone center"
in 7 reviews
"concrete jungle"
in 5 reviews
"south of market"
in 4 reviews
"museum of modern art"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 2 reviews
"soma area"
in 2 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 2 reviews
"urban oasis"
in 2 reviews
"pretty park"
in 2 reviews
"city park"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful flowers"
in 3 reviews
"homeless people"
in 4 reviews
"huge park"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

The size is more like a small park than a garden, but there is a nice assortment of plants, trees, and bushes to check out along with a butterfly garden. But to me, the highlight was an incredible memorial to Martin Luther King with ponds and waterfalls. It was really, really nicely done and if the day had been nicer I would have sat there with a book and enjoyed the serenity.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

I had walked around Yerba Buena Gardens many times before, but had spent scant time there. On this February trip to San Francisco, I took more time to explore the Gardens, and enjoyed my stroll.

First, it’s relatively small, but is a grassy “oasis” right in the middle of the SoMa (South of Market) area of the city – essentially in the “downtown.”

I walked past the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, and then into the Gardens, themselves. I had just stayed at the Marriott Marquis, about a block away, and took the time to photograph that building’s exterior, from several vantage points in the Gardens. I did the same, to get photos of the hotel, the San Francisco St. Regis, for this stay. Both are in proximity to the Gardens, and they provided some nice angles to photograph.

Now, there is construction, and on two sides: directly across Mission St., a building is being renovated, and was wrapped in black netting – the entire building. On the southerly side of the Gardens, there is major construction at the Moscone Center. Still, the Gardens, themselves, were unaffected, and on this cool February day, lovely.

While I had a particular focus, during my visit, it was nice to just stroll the grassy area, and enjoy the views of SoMa.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I saw this park and that it had a fountain and MLK tribute. It was so disappointing. The water feature was not working and the whole space was run down. It Unless you are just looking for a green space in the city this is. It for you.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Donnetta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Yerba Buena gardens was a beautiful place, so tranquil in the heart of the city. The waterfalls were beautiful in the day and in the evening. everywhere was beautifully kept and so inspiring

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 444Lindaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yerba Buena Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Yerba Buena Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing