We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on Castro
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$484
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$399
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$218
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$339
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$229
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$406
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
628
123
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
123
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcastro areamuni stationbrown roomother guestspatio suitehost janbreakfast tablehome away from homefresh fruitevery morningprivate bathtwin peaksbreakfast was deliciousa wonderful place to stayf linerestaurants and bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
637 - 642 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I second the thoughts of other reviewers -- the location is great, the breakfast is incredible, the rooms are comfortable and include free bottled water, juice, and hooch. The wireless can be a bit spotty, but my rooms had ethernet cables as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the rooms in the basement -- not enough light makes it difficult to wake up. The other rooms are great, though.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

headline about says it all - no parking, clean space, but furnishings are very old (the blanket on our bed was fraying where sewing was coming a apart across all the trim), soap and conditioner in the shower, no shampoo; brandy in the room, free unlimited bottled water and juice. Proprietor was a bit odd (older-middle aged gay man, make not so funny gay jokes directed at us...).

The redeeming characteristic of this place is the breakfast - that gets an A+ both day (fruit, yogurt, cereals, gourmet coffees, AND three cheese omelet, french toast, poached eggs on Spanish, etc. Again, breakfast was VERY good.

Room Tip: more expensive rooms are obviously nicer and quitter
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My BF and I recently had a one night stay at this B&B. We stayed in the Brown room which was recommended when we made the booking for being quiet. And it was. The location was great. Right off of Castro and Market. Lots of transportation options. We walked to dinner in the Mission and it didn't take long at all. We didn't have much time in the city and had a vehicle. We had no problem finding parking on the street but, had to move the car at least once. I imagine if you stay longer with a vehicle you may want to find a lot to park in. The room was nicely decorated. There was even a mini bar full of soft drinks, juice and water. Also a nice decanter with Brandy in the room. Breakfast was great. Jan was a pleasure to talk too. Found out he had once lived in the city we live in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmyineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed with Jan in one of his properties three times now and each time it is outstanding. A pleasant informative host, affable conversations over the breakfast table with like minded guests and clean and comfortable facilities, Jan is a font of knowledge about local restaurants and activities - all of which were useful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have stayed at this lovely Inn 3 times now. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location, the service, the owner, the amazing breakfasts, proximity to transit and amenities, the delightful atmosphere make this the quintessential place to stay.

Room Tip: The front room can be a tad noisy on weekends.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews