We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It has been 6 months since I was in San Fran and what a memory,the White room I stayed in for 5 nights and what a view,a little noisy as this is close to an intersection,however I slept well,the breakfasts great,Jan so courteous and a good host,the Castro to me was a unique area with the street cars consistently coming and going,this inn is good fun and in San Fran when I come again I am staying here.The complimentary fridge extras were a service,the coffee great.Thanks Jan.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
319
132
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The best thing about this inn is its proximity to the Castro -- just across Market St. No problem getting home after the night out. Rooms are adequate size (our had a nice balcony with spectacular view across the city). Strangely, no closet (but a "tree" for hanging clothes). Breakfast was terrific -- real squeezed fresh orange juice, fruit salad, chunky cereal, good freshly baked cranberry bread, and a choice of pancakes or eggs for the hot course.) If you have a car, be prepared to a complex musical chairs of fitting into the area's 2 hour time limits and street cleaning times.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have significant luggage, ask for a room on the entry floor -- the 'publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are so grateful that we had opportunity to enjoy the stay in your beautiful place, enjoy delicious gourmet breakfasts on a festively and tastefully decorated table. Most of all we enjoyed talking to you and your awesome guests. We definitely learned a lot from you, dear friend. It is inspiring to talk to people who know so much and care so much. We did feel like we were home, and it was painful to leave. The orchids and fresh cut flowers, the art decorating the place are still in front of our eyes. It all creates this unique and magical experience: Inn on Castro. Thank you! Inessa and Dan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I had been reluctant about staying at a B&B until our stay at the Inn on Castro. The location was ideal for walking and public transportation. The room was very comfortable and the view out the bay window was beautiful. It was a joy to wake up to a delicious breakfast served by our host. At the communal table, we were able to meet other guests from around the country and the globe. I would highly recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were here for about six days. Could not be happier with the place and all that we got for the price. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are truly outstanding. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful, even taking the time to sit down and orient us with the area and the city on a provided map - this was my first trip to SF.
Also, the place is about 25 steps from the corner of Castro and Market, the heart of the Castro and the F line, which will take you right down Market Street to the Embarcedero (popular tourist destinations). We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 72 in San Francisco
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $188 - $313
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing