We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on Castro”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inn on Castro”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in the apartment on 322 Douglas Street, Inn on Castro. The apartment is in a great location, clean and decorated nicely. We loved the wifi, location, and the addition of a sitting room. This is a great place to stay if you need more than one bedroom.

Our only complaint is that it was not made clear to us that the apartment was a 10 minute walk from the Inn. We arrived at the Inn by taxi from the airport and then were told we would have to either walk or take another taxi to the apartment. It would have been more welcoming after a long flight and $45 taxi ride for the Inn to arrange to meet us at the apartment with keys or at the least to let us know that the apartment was not on the same property as the Inn.

Other than that small issue, the Inn on Castro apartment was great and i would definitely stay there again and recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    118
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
324
132
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This B&B could be a model of what would be a better hotel management in USA. The staff is friendly and efficient, the room is wide and the bed of extremely good quality. The street is quiet and the place very close to Haight Ashbury and Castro (Walking distance) . The F tram is at a few meter from your room and goes to fisherman wharf without changing line. The breakfast is a must: home made cake, fruits, eggs with various and delicious preparation.. European quality in USA..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Hideaway suite at the Inn on Castro has the advantage of easing in and out of it at street level. Helps if you dont have to lug your bags up and down stairs, so you dont end up with sore shoulders at the end of a short break. The bedroom was well furnished and serviced daily, bathroom was clean well supplied with amenities and always smelled fresh. Breakfast quality was consistently high.

Room Tip: For those who want to avoid climbing stairs, the patio suite is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habib_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at. I'm so glad we decided to! It is right off of Castro and Market where there are so many great restaurants to walk to. It is also so centered in SF that you could just take a short bus ride to anywhere you needed to get to. Jan is so nice! He would chat with us during breakfast and I wanted to stay longer! The breakfast is so delicious! Every morning I couldn't wait to walk upstairs and start eating!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have physical limitations and cannot negotiate stairs well so when I was making a phone reservation with Melanie she recommended the ground level Patio Suite. It was perfect...large and sunny and easily able to accomodate a group of friends over for snacks before going out to dinner. Melanie brought down plates, forks, napkins and glasses for our beautiful cheese, salimi, grapes and olives platter ordered from the nearby A. G. Ferrari deli.

Jon, the proprietor, couldn't have been more helpful and met my every need, bringing down a delicious breakfast every morning and being sure I was fully accomodated. Complimentary water and sodas in the fridge is a plus.

Room Tip: I recommend the Patio Suite with its seperate ground level entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halcyon339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
442 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $184 - $307
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing