We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$159
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
Hotels.comUS$159
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveller rating
1,249
536
124
37
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,249
536
124
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace abbey suite union square evening wine other guests every afternoon fresh fruit breakfast was delicious wine and cheese nob hill bed and breakfast petite auberge charming hotel small hotel room was large cable car no air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely, intimate, historic hotel with modern upgrades. We had a warm welcome, excellent service.
The deluxe room was spacious and well appointed, wine & cheese before the parlor fireplace was a pleasure. Breakfast room and patio provide choices for morning breakfast. Easy walking distance to Union Square.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Guest Services / Front Office at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Penny M,


Many thanks for such intimate thoughtful positive review about your stay with us. We are very honored that your wonderful compliments to our historic hotel chimes you while celebrating a very occasional milestone, as well found a peaceful, quiet city escapade and restful sleep in our hotel. There is nothing more important than a good night's rest, and our hotel was designed with that in mind--as well assuring the health and well-being of our guests while leaving a minimal environmental footprint. It is so nice to hear that you were very pleased with it. We love to have you back, please return soon. Safe Travels.


Best Wishes & All The Best,


Jorge Rosana
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021

Excellent customer service. Beautiful decorations in vintage setting. Easy walking distance to most places with nearby amenities. Nice, warm, and cozy inside spacious room with lovely fireplace. Comfortable bed with clean linen. Cute overall experience. Perfect for photography.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meriloo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Guest Services / Front Office at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Meriloo A,


Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy that you chose the White Swan Inn, and truly appreciate your five star recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed our excellent guest services staff and beautiful rich vintage quintessentially 1960 British countryside decor enticing moments to cherish and look back. I am very happy that our utmost priority of our cleanliness whilst feeling cozy exceeded your stay as our Housekeeping Staff are dedicated to ensure that every guests like you sleep under the stars with comfort. Please come back soon!


Kind Regards,

Jorge Rosana
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2021

Very nice, helpful, and professional staff. Free street parking if you can find it, but be aware of street cleaning days. Close to restaurants and needs shopping. Clean room, good service. Complimentary drinks and breakfast. Offer a small soiree in the evenings to mingle (or not).

Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adventurer793389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Guest Services / Front Office at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adventurer78339,


Thank you very much for taking time to share such a recommended review and for rating us so highly. Its an absolute pleasure hearing this wonderful words to our outstanding service Staff that create memorable experience assuring our room cleanliness and functionality are well-maintained despite on the Covid-19 conditions as we all love to engage and get-to-know each and every guest we interact with on a simply warmth "soiree" and feeling home-away-from-home. Very glad to hear that you've conveniently find our beautiful City to fit your parking needs. We greatly look forward to your return, please come and visit soon.


All The Best,

Jorge Rosana
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying in the white swan inn for two nights. Everything is walking distance, close to China town, Italy town, and all the shopping stores! Staffs were very helpful. If you are wine lover like me, there’s happy hours that serves with cheese and wine. I would highly recommend, and I would definitely stay here.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Miala_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Guest Services / Front Office at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Yuko,


Thank you very much for your many kind words. My team and I are completely focused on ensuring that our guests have a wonderful time with us, so it is great to hear that your stay at White Swan was just that! It is nice to recognized on our dedication and commitment to be 'at your service' in each and every guests to ensuring your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. Now that you have found us, we really hope you will return again to San Francisco, as we look forward to being your "home away from home" in our City by the Bay.


Best Wishes,

Jorge Rosana
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020

We stayed at the White Swan Inn for a quick weekend in the city. The hotel was perfect! So cute and cozy with a British theme.

The staff was super friendly and helpful.

We had our evening wine and nibbles in the library room with the fireplace going each night. We were the only ones in there, which was nice since we stayed during Covid.

The breakfast was exactly what we expected, and we were able to enjoy that in our room.

The hotel was clean, there was hand sanitizer on every floor and masks being worn by all.

We stayed in the King room with a fireplace. It was spacious and cozy at the same time. We loved it!

The location is perfect for walking around SF. It's close to Union Square, Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Cable Cars (when they are back up and running)!

We will definitely be coming back to this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aleashamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge R, Guest Services / Front Office at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear aleshamey,


Thank you so much for staying at White Swan Inn, and for taking time to share such a thoughtful review. I would want to know that everything that could be done in the interest of safety, is being done, so that is our approach. We have worked very hard to create a comfortable yet safe environment during this time. I am especially happy to know that our "friendly staff" commits to put extra efforts helped you feel reassured and contributed to a most enjoyable stay. We greatly look forward to your return, please come and visit soon.


Best Wishes,

Jorge Rosana
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews