We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed for 4 nights in early August. The Willows Inn is very conveniently located in a very pleasant neighbourhood with plenty of amenities close by. Church St street just a block away has some very nice restaurants and cafes etc.
The subway is oppositie and a number of trams run close by so it is an excellent place to get around San Francisco. The Castro area and all is has to offer are a short walk away.
The Willows Inn has a very pleasant feel and is welcoming. The staff were all very helpful and gave me any information I needed as a first time visitor to San Francisco. The reviews on here are accurate and give a good feel for the place. I attended the drinks evening one during my four night stay, it was a great way to meet other travellers. Would have gone more than once but my busy schedule didn't permit attending other nights.
I would recommend this Inn and would stay again without any hesitation at all.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got a very nice room not over looking the road. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB1UnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    54
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
77
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Cozy and comfortable, not luxurious but definitely feels like home. The cherry on top was the complimentary breakfast tray that was delivered in to our room after a long night in the Castro bars... What a service & personnel!

We were a bit suspicios towards the shared bathrooms, but they were clean and we didn't need to queue for the showers. A good experience.

P.S. During the same trip we also stayed at Parker Guest House, which is a similar kind of B&B located nearby. That was also a very good experience, but compered to Willows they were a bit less personal and more hotel-like.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

this was my third visit to the willows inn
each time it was a pleasure to stay @ the inn
staff is always friendly best value in san francisco
close to the castro
way to go willows inn

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Willows inn. Would highly recommend staying here particularly in terms of very helpful and attentive service from all of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmosBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Jamie greeted us at the door, and provided a knowledgeable tour of the inn. Our room had a great 3rd floor street view, and the bedroom was equipped with a sink, armoire, and a comfortable bed. The complimentary cocktail hour was a great way to meet the other guests, and the breakfasts that Mike & Allen provided were both nutritious and varied selections (they have coffee to-go also!). There were plenty of shared restrooms with separate WC's and showers. The facilities were immaculately clean, and there was plenty of tourist information and maps to compliment the numerous bookshelves featuring gay literature and history books of yesteryear. All-in-all--I'd highly recommend everyone to give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 710 14th St, At Church and Market Streets, San Francisco, CA 94114-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $237 - $272
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel San Francisco
The Willows b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing