We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The room was nice and clean. It was a tad small but I am guessing that is because of the age of the hotel. The lobby was nice and the bar was pretty good as well. The staff is great and very friendly. I didn't like the difficulty of trying to park my car even with Valet. Also the neighbor hood gets a little sketchy after dark and I wouldn't recommend walking around at night with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qsxhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

When I read the comments above, I thought I must be missing something - average rating?

For other folks that may be a little confused...No need to guess. The rooms are small because that is how they built hotels in the early 1900s. When you stay at a historic hotel, drive an old car or visit an "old town", you will find things to be very different than they are today. If you don't like experiencing old things, please take a pass on the Chancellor. You won't like it. If you appreciate the charm and quaintness of a historical hotel experience in the heart of the city, you'll love us.

Speaking of the "heart of the city," I would encourage others to avoid staying in the heart of a city, like Union Square, if you are not prepared to deal with the traffic, cable cars, parking, one way streets, noise and the like. We have all of those things, just like any other city center (except they don't have cable cars). Arriving and departing by car will be more difficult than you are used to unless you live in, and drive in, a city center normally. In which case, it will be no big deal.

Finally, I think it is perfectly fine to walk around Union Square with kids anytime, but that is just me. Relative to other big cities I have been to all around the world, Union Square is not sketchy to me at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,820 - 2,824 of 5,317 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nice,clean,quiet hotel located in the perfect spot.We stayed here for 5 days and couldn't be happier about our time there.Friendly staff who gave us tips and suggestions on things to do and good directions as well.They sell 3 days passes for the cable cars right in the lobby (cable car stops right outside the door of the hotel) and had good food in their restaurant.Starbucks and Walgreens right next door and all kinds of shopping for 4 blocks that leads you to a giant shopping mall.Takes about 15 minutes to get to Fishermans Wharf on the cable car and we even walked to AT&T Park to see a Giants game (35 minutes and no hills to walk up) The bathroom in our room was pretty small but who cares,the place is in a pefect location.I would stay here again for sure..

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the building.Nothing to look at,just the other nearby buildings but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Chancellor may be the best bargain not only in San Francisco-- but in any major U.S. city. We love it for its great Union Square location as well as its amenities. Wes the GM and his excellent staff provide all the creature comforts without being on top of you. It's the little things like free cookies, coffee, fruit and water-- always stocked in the lobby.

The rooms are very comfortable and always incredibly clean. The bathroom products are all top notch-- and the bed makes for a great night's sleep.

If you are looking for a hotel with character and charm-- this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel overlook Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved the location and ambiance of this small hotel. Staff were excellent and friendly. Cable Cars pass up and down front of hotel as this is the main route to the Waterfront area so its easy to catch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicats116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Having read reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel we booked a 2 night stay at the beginning of our trip around California. Whilst the staff were pleasant and the linen was clean the hotel lacked atmosphere and is need of a thorough makeover. The bath had been painted at some time and the coating was lifting, there was also a step up that could be trip hazard in the night. The room needed a deep clean. The stairs and carpet down to the toilets in the basement were very dirty and would benefit from renovation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy due to trams and music from buskers on Union Square. No air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtdsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

I respectfully disagree that the hotel lacks atmosphere. That is a comment I don't think I have ever heard. What I do hear all the time is that people love the atmosphere. They tell me the love the charm, history and family owned/operated feel of the hotel.

Sorry they missed it...its pretty nice feeling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,044 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,860 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $213 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing