We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
26
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virginia's room the main house pacific heights curbside cafe kitchen area within walking distance fillmore japantown closet
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Can't say enough good things about the Artists Inn. Hotels in San Francisco are outrageously expensive. The Artists Inn was a great value. Denise was very accomodating. I really like her hands-off approach. She was very friendly and there when we needed her, but wasn't staying up for us and wanting to talk my ear off all of the time, like some B&B hosts. The room was great, very clean and had lots of homey touches. Loved the bathrobes. Great location as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. Denise was upfront about the lack of breakfast and the local cafe offering 50% discount was very good. It may have helped to have a transport map in the room as even by looking on the internet the SF system is hard to fathom. Very handy for the numbers 3 and 1 buses which link up well with the rest of the city. Fillmore was a lovely district with real character, handy for the cinema too. Our room was comfy and clean and hot drinks available from a small shared kitchen closeby which was good. Liked the garden and setting, lovely art too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We could not have enjoyed our stay at Artists Inn more. Denise is a great hostess and our room (the Garden Room) was just what we wanted. And of course the terrific art made all the difference too. Take Denise's advice and breakfast at the Curbside Cafe. There's no need to sing the praises of San Francisco but Pacific Heights is a very good area to stay and there are a number of excellent restaurants on Fillmore. We especially liked SPQR. It's also very easy to get to the Golden Gate area and downtown. Five days of uninterrupted sunshine also helped!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose the Artist's Inn by default being late attendees at the Salesforce Conference who did not want to spend the hiked rates at the franchise hotels. What we found was a lovely home in pacific heights that offered the kind of AWAY from home experience we did not expect. Low key ,beautiful, peaceful setting away from the bustle of the conference that allowed us to enjoy SF and the lovely Pacific Heights area. Great restaurants, great views all well within walking distance. We really had a nice time and if it is available I highly recommend the stay.

Room Tip: I don't imagine there is a bad one
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camerondonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We ended our 3.5 months of travel in San Francisco and were looking for a cozy and well kept place to stay for our last 4 nights. We wanted to treat ourselves so staying at a B&B was definitely a splurge, but staying at the Artist's Inn was worth every penny. Our room was extremely clean and so well decorated. The bed was amazingly comfortable, it made it hard for us to get out of bed in the morning! We really appreciated all the work that had gone into maintaining the Inn. It seemed like everything was thought of. We were even given a complementary bottle of wine!

We had read online that the Inn was no longer serving breakfast which was a little disappointing for us initially but they offer 50% off at a nearby cafe and the food there was amazing! Best Huevos Rancheros I've ever had, so this ended up not being an issue at all!

Lastly, Denise is such a wonderful host and person! We really enjoyed talking with her and she was so friendly and warm. We had the best experience at the Artist's Inn and would recommend it to anyone looking for a charming place to stay in the city. It was the perfect way to end our travelling adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews