We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Pacific Heights B&B, Excellent Sight Seeing Base”
Review of Artists Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artists Inn
Ranked #22 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Artists Inn, Fillmore district, San Francisco. Wonderful inn a half block off Fillmore, easy access to several bus routes that will take you everywhere you want to go; great food in easy walking distance. Comfy, funky rooms with great beds surrounding a nifty garden courtyard. Would have loved to spend more time with the owner, Denise, who was lovely on the phone and in person, but traveling for most of our stay.

Room Tip: There are four, all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Can't say enough good things about the Artists Inn. Hotels in San Francisco are outrageously expensive. The Artists Inn was a great value. Denise was very accomodating. I really like her hands-off approach. She was very friendly and there when we needed her, but wasn't staying up for us and wanting to talk my ear off all of the time, like some B&B hosts. The room was great, very clean and had lots of homey touches. Loved the bathrobes. Great location as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. Denise was upfront about the lack of breakfast and the local cafe offering 50% discount was very good. It may have helped to have a transport map in the room as even by looking on the internet the SF system is hard to fathom. Very handy for the numbers 3 and 1 buses which link up well with the rest of the city. Fillmore was a lovely district with real character, handy for the cinema too. Our room was comfy and clean and hot drinks available from a small shared kitchen closeby which was good. Liked the garden and setting, lovely art too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We could not have enjoyed our stay at Artists Inn more. Denise is a great hostess and our room (the Garden Room) was just what we wanted. And of course the terrific art made all the difference too. Take Denise's advice and breakfast at the Curbside Cafe. There's no need to sing the praises of San Francisco but Pacific Heights is a very good area to stay and there are a number of excellent restaurants on Fillmore. We especially liked SPQR. It's also very easy to get to the Golden Gate area and downtown. Five days of uninterrupted sunshine also helped!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose the Artist's Inn by default being late attendees at the Salesforce Conference who did not want to spend the hiked rates at the franchise hotels. What we found was a lovely home in pacific heights that offered the kind of AWAY from home experience we did not expect. Low key ,beautiful, peaceful setting away from the bustle of the conference that allowed us to enjoy SF and the lovely Pacific Heights area. Great restaurants, great views all well within walking distance. We really had a nice time and if it is available I highly recommend the stay.

Room Tip: I don't imagine there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camerondonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
233 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
998 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Sleep Over Sauce
Sleep Over Sauce
#18 of 72 in San Francisco
110 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Inn

Address: 2231 Pine St, San Francisco, CA 94115-2712
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: S$223 - S$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artists Inn consists of the main house and the studio building on either side of a secluded garden courtyard. There are four comfortable rooms, one in the main house and three in the studio building. All are beautifully decorated, and each has a private bath. Whichever room you choose, we are sure it will make your stay in San Francisco most memorable. Artists Inn is nestled in an area of Victorian homes in one of San Francisco's most desirable and exciting neighborhoods, Pacific Heights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing