We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
FindHotel
US$204
View deal
Expedia.comUS$239
PricelineUS$239
EtripUS$277
View all 23 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,261)
Filter reviews
7,261 results
Traveller rating
4,610
1,944
460
174
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,610
1,944
460
174
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue mermaid nautical theme fisherman's wharf the golden gate bridge maritime museum chowder cable car great location ghirardelli square irish coffee buena vista bay view wharf area around the corner each evening our honeymoon wonderful hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6,181 - 6,186 of 7,261 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2005

We stayed two nights at the Argonaut on October 2005.
It had everything you'd expect from such a hotel, in terms of service, amenities, friendliness and responsiveness of the staff. Everything was just right.
The location - right on Fishermen's Wharf - is the best in SF in my opionion.
But the real reason to stay there is that the hotel is very unique in its nautical-themed design. We really enjoyed it, and it added a lot to the experience.

My only gripe is that it takes the valet about 15 minutes to retrieve your car from the garage, but I guess that comes with the location. They do let you know that in advance, so you can plan for it call from your room and ask them to deliver it before you go down.

In short, it's one of those rarest times when I can wholeheartedly recommend a place. The price is right too!

5  Thank Elad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Good location for tourists, but has some issues. Front desk doesnt have a clue, another guest came into our room while we were in it, they gave them an electronic key...didnt have any compensation for it"we're sorry"...had trouble checking out, some other guests did too.
Good points, location, views, wine, clean.

Date of stay: September 2005
4  Thank Mainerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2005

We have travelled to San Francisco with our twin sons for the past three years to attend Fleet Week in San Francisco. We chose the Argonaut this year with some trepidation because of the cost but from the minute we arrived we knew we had made the right decision. The staff is welcoming, pleasant, completely service oriented and with a unique sincerity. This hotel had ENERGY! Imagine our sons wide eyes when they saw the Blue Angels in the hotel lobby as they left by police escort to wherever it was that they flew out of to perform the spectacular air show over the San Francisco Bay. At the end of the show, they were in the hotel lobby signing autographs and talking to everybody. The room we had was exactly as the pictures show, very nautical and spic and span clean. The wine reception every night was a welcome respite from the throngs of people who were at the Wharf. You were not allowed entrance to the hotel without showing your key. These guys had it wired. They were good about giving us traffic advisories, they kept the crowd under control and as far as we could see, if you were going to stay anywhere this was the place. Honestly, I cannot find one fault with this hotel. It's expensive, but it's worth it!

Date of stay: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Companion26890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2005

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for one night using expedia. We thought it would be a fabulous night in a four star hotel. A treat really. HA! What a joke.

From the moment we walked into the hotel there was nothing but trouble. The room we requested was not even a possibility when we got there (even though it was posted on expedia).

The towels were no bigger than a face cloth, the sheets were too short for the bed, so our feet touched the matress. When we requested proper bedding -we were questioned, no sorry, interegated before they would send someone up.

The "concierge" knew nothing about the city. And the managers kept passing the buck as to 'who's fault all the problems fell to'.

They gave us no compensation for our troubles...oops...except for a bag of about 15 covered nuts. HA...What a ridiculous experience for the over $350 we spent on the tackiest room I've ever seen.

Oh ya'...don't forget to check out the leapord print old robes. That's a site.

A terrible experience...just terrible.

Date of stay: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Adventure1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2005

This hotel is very charming and has a unique style! The staff was very friendly and nice! The rooms were very clean and we had no complaints!! We faced the courtyard of the adjoining open mallwhich was pleasant.
However, the one thing that was a disappointment was nothing at all was done in celebration of special birthdays we were celebrating. I had written ahead of time to the hotel manager about this but it was not acknowledged at all. Most hotels will do something to make your ocasion special- sending something special to your room, a complimentary spa treatment or meal.
The adjoining restaurant was very good for breakfast but we ate our meals at the many places on the pier.
The location of the hotel is perfect!
I would definately stay there again! Thanks again to a wonderful staff!

Date of stay: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews