We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but smaller rooms. Friendly Staff. Questionable Area in the Evening. Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #55 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This Marriott Hotel is clean with a friendly staff, but a bit tired. Although it's only a few blocks off Union Square, in the evening, the area turns questionable with a sizeable homeless element populating Geary Street. During the day, the location is not as undesirable, but this Marriott Autograph Collection hotel is a bit tired. The staff referred to it as a "boutique" hotel, but, @ $529. per room, plus tax, it's significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KVM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Mr. KVM101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and for choosing us for your recent ventures. We truly benefit from any and all feedback given as it further develops our services.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for our on-going homelessness issue that effects us all here in San Francisco. We do our best to point our guests to the best gems and attractions that San Francisco has to offer that neighbor our very hotel. Hotel prices vary contingent upon on demand and tend to fluctuate throughout the surrounding area. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Francisco. We would be more than happy to have you again and will do our best to give you the best available rate possible.

Sincerely,
Anthony Colunga
anthony.colunga@evolutionhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 1,514 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Hotel Adagio in San Francisco is a great hotel. The location is in Union Square and has easy access to the cable cars. The hotel is older but the rooms are fairly roomy. I our room the windows opened so we could cool it off quickly after being out all day. The ac worked but never really did cool the room. The breakfast was great and there was water as well as coffee and tea available In the lobby 24/7. The staff was very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Once we were checked in, the visit was great! The walk from the BART to the hotel was "interesting". We walked through the Tenderloin neighborhood which is known for its homeless population. The experience at the property was great. Very attentive concierge, great bartender, and overall very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is in the South Nob Hill district of San Francisco. The staff is friendly and attentive. Vise at the front desk greeted me by name every time she saw me during our visit. The bar is nicely appointed and well stocked. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious. The room was clean throughout and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Passing through San Francisco on the way to Napa, we decided upon the Adagio. Loved the trendy decor and our room was really nice as well. This is a Marriott establishment so you can rack up additional points if you're a Marriott Member. The staff were all very helpful and I would recommend staying here. You may be able to get a better price by using the Priceline app as well, which I'm a huge fan of. They also participate in environmentally friendly practices. Location is relatively central to the areas tourism sights. Take a drive down Lombard Street, Sight see at Coit Tower and walk around the Wharf and see Alcatraz Island!

Room Tip: ask for your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistiMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
5,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $233 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing