We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flip a coin”
Review of Palmers Tavern

Palmers Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Palmers Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,154 of 6,322 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Pacific Heights
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Pacific Heights
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Happy hour, from 4pm to 6pm, is great. Their menu changes; on their current menu the pulled pork slides, mussels and meatballs are best. Their flat breads are good and light on your stomach, but heavy on your wallet (a bit expensive for what you get.)

Service is better or worse depending on whom you get (as is usually the case). I’e had great service and not so good service in the same visit. I was served a bad piece of meat, in half of their fried chicken sandwich and when I mentioned it to the waitress, all she could do was say, “I’m sorry.” You know what should have happened and so did she.

In summary: their a good neighborhood hang out, but inconsistent; no culinary landmark, but not a bad place to drop by and have a drink.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BayJouneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

This place has a great vibe. Very lively, nice bar, and delicious drinks. Had dinner here and the food was ok. Appetizers were delicious. I had the radicchio salad and my husband had the risotto bites. Both substantial portions. The entrees is where it fell flat. Husband had the burger with Parmesan fries and mashed potatoes for sides. Fries delicious. Burger ok. Mashed potatoes very bland. I had the salmon entree. Just ok overall. Didn’t enjoy the spinach with it. Very soggy. We’d go back, but just for drinks and small bites. Truthfully, the radicchio salad was such a generous size that I could’ve stopped there and would’ve been satisfied. Service was great.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mynonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

The waiter said one of the most popular cocktails was the Parisian Bouquet. I got mine with vodka au lieu de gin. It was delightfully bitter. The restaurant features many interesting cocktails and a good assortment of wines, both by the bottle and glass. I’m not sure who our waiter was, as he failed to introduce himself, but he took nice care of us. Hubby got the steak; I got the salmon. Both were delicious. The brussel sprouts weren’t too shabby either.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank edodd419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This is an American/French style tavern borrowing from several eras. Taxidermied deer heads, a big fish adorn the walls with a mural on another. Chandelier & sconce lighting add to it's charm. Sports were on the TV bar, but thankfully at a very low volume. Red leatherette booths, comfortable side chairs make for cozy dining. Palmer's Tavern is located in Upper Pacific Heights at the corner of Clay St. & Fillmore St. The exterior has great black & white awnings with a wonderful neon sign. In good weather you can sit outside. I ordered a side of deviled eggs (2 halves) accompanied by pickled baby carrots, cauliflower, red onions with bacon. The wine I chose was Miraval Provence Rose & Radicchio salad with greens, avocado and goat cheese. Warm sourdough bread & butter was an additional charge, but a necessary one. I would recommend giving Palmer's Tavern a try. Within a couple of blocks there's lots of small, high-end shops plus Peet's coffee next to a great bookstore & specialty ice cream shop. The wonderful historic film house, the Clay is directly across the street and that's where I was headed to see Bombshell about Hedy Lamarr.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 538MaryE538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

If Klaus or Albert greet you at the door, you feel like you've just walked into a friend's place. They are the glue and the charm of this corner restaurant that has been going strong after many have tried and failed to make a go at that location on Upper Fillmore.

There's a full bar that is always hopping, great food, with even a bit of Austrian flavor sneaking in, right across from the Clay Theatre to grab a bite before or after a usually eclectic film.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank KathieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmers Tavern also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Palmers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing