We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought this hotel the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square
Ranked #5 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
bowral
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Thought this hotel the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed as a family with a few rooms and thought this hotel was the best. It is very centrally situated right at Union Square which is a great place from which to explore all areas of San Francisco. Great shopping right at the door.
The staff were very helpful regarding the sights we should see and with restaurant recommendations as well. Walking distance from China Town, the Wharf etc.
The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were quite good with nice designer Aveda products to use.
We felt very at home at this little boutique inn, enjoyed chatting to the other guests at the happy hour drinks in the evening as well.
Breakfast was continental and with a good range of options, all we needed.
Will stay here in this charming hotel when again in san francisco.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    377
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
167
968
86
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wheaton Il
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

O.K. all you guys were right on. This place ruled!! Made us feel right at home and the evening wine was just the right touch.
Thanks inn at union square for adding to our enjoyable san fran weekend!!!

Room Tip: Back of the building (507 & 607) were way quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gator-gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle33
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I really enjoyed my one night stay here during the first week of February. We had a room on the 5th floor, which is one of the floors where breakfast and the wine and cheese is served. Our room was second in from the elevator. The room was spotless and clean. It was quiet on this floor despite what other reviewers have said. We did look out on the wall of the next door building but we already knew this was going to be the case. We had enough light in the morning as we were higher up. It was not noisy and I am a light sleeper.The room had an overhead fan I think and kept the room at a good temperature. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The room was a perfectly adequate size with enough room for a wardrobe, desk and armchair. The bathroom was spacious enough, just a shower no bath and stocked with Aveda products. All the staff who helped us were polite, friendly and helpful. We arrived way before check in and were able to leave our bags while we explored SF. The building is old and narrow but this wasn't a problem, even for my husband who is six foot and over 200 pounds. The extra touches like wine and cheese, turn down service with chocolates and water just added to the great experience. We arrived just as the wine and cheese was laid out and had our pick of complimentary wine, soda, water and cheese and other nibbly bits. The breakfast was beautifully presented with an array of pastries, juice and breads. I'm very picky about where I stay and I was most impressed with this hotel, I think it absolutely deserves the TripAdvisor rating. I personally don't like the downtown area of SF but if you are going shopping, the hotel is right there. Chinatown is an easy walk and the trolley, BART and buses are all really nearby too.

Room Tip: Choose the floors where the food is served if you want to have first pick and rooms higher up have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Really tight fit. Hallways are narrow, and front lobby is tiny. But the room was nicely furnished, clean, and the staff were great -- always friendly and helpful. I needed some workspace and rented the Queen Suite and it was perfect for my needs. Continental breakfast with a good range of options; afternoon snack had a nice selection of fruits and cheeses. Business center was also useful with a printer withour charge. If you want to be on Union Square, but you don't need the frills of a big hotel (pool,big lobby, restaurant), then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rec531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

If you are looking for a charming, quiet and conveniently located boutique hotel then look no further. I just got back from my trip to San Francisco. My parents had been recommending this hotel to me for a couple of years now and finally I got my chance to stay at The Inn at Union Square.

The wine and cheese in the evening was a great in between snack after lunch and right before dinner. And in the morning the same buffet table gets transformed into a breakfast nook. My boyfriend and I definitely took advantage of the included breakfast and snacks in the afternoon.

The complimentary WiFi worked great, the shower was warm and the TV was a flat screen so it had a great picture. I didn't need the iron and ironing board on this trip but as someone who usually likes to press her clothes just knowing it was there was a plus. The staff was so friendly and it's literally 100 meters from Union Square where some of the best shopping can be had! What more could you need?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoriousgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square

Property: The Inn at Union Square
Address: 440 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $336 - $616
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is truly an urban retreat, in classic San Francisco style. The intimacy of our 30 elegant and restful rooms and suites provides the setting for our gracious staff to tend to your every need. From greeting you by name to making sure you have an umbrella when it rains- it is our pleasure to serve you. The Inn is located steps from Union Square- the city’s center for shopping, theatre and dining. If business is on the agenda, it is an easy stroll to the Financial District or the Moscone Convention Center. The Inn at Union Square is away from the crowd, in the center of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing