We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$88
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armory Quarters(Harpers Ferry)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Light Horse Inn(Harpers Ferry)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Charles Town(Charles Town)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Town's Inn(Harpers Ferry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cantuta Inn(Harpers Ferry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
50
72
47
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
72
47
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping pillowfree pancakescamp storepancake breakfastmovie theaterwine tastinggreat campgroundindoor basketball courtdeluxe cabinnational parkcivil warboy scoutskids activitiesgeneral storefire pitlong weekendplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great time again. Just got back. Stayed in a studio cabin 103, very clean and new. These are located across from the playground, pancake breakfast area, near the jumping pillow, basketball courts, pool, etc....great location within the campground. We brought our great dane with us and we have a 13 and 12 year old. Cabin was just right. I would come back again. lots to do outdide of the park if you are the hiking, nature, historic sights, civil war history type. beautiful scenery too. We brought 2 other families with us and they loved it as well.

only complaint was that the cabins were too close to each other, but not by much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatdaneGeorgeFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We went here the first weekend in Sept. Hubby and I and my 7 year old twin boys.
What we liked: employees were happy and courteous, there is alot to do for kids, they have a nice arcade and the games are reasonably priced- mostly 50 cents, some of the activities are really cool and great for families- we got to tie dye nice KOA souvenir shirts for 50 cents, the pool is also larger than most and has lots of comfortable seating around it, their pool is open later than most- until the end of September, my boys also enjoyed the jumping pillow (no charge), the campground was quiet at night- we had no problem sleeping
What we didn't care for (but could live with)- The counter at the store is also where you check in and the line could get pretty long, many of the trailer sites are right on top of one another and even the pull thru's could be hard to navigate because the roads are so close together, the pancake breakfast was nice to have but the pancakes really weren't worth the wait in line, you get a few small, mediocre pancakes (wait til after 930 to get them- the line will disappear)
Overall though we had a great stay and the campground is laid out nicely. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We just stayed Thursaday-Monday at Kabin 4. We were suppose to be in a deluxe cabin with 2 bedrooms. This was not it. When we went to the office to go over the reservation we were told that it was booked before we made our reservation that there must be a misunderstanding . We didn't plan on 6 people /2 pets with one bedroom.So my husband said we would have to make lemonade out of lemons. Our cabin had a broken front storm door no screen, broken porch light , dirty futon and only surface clean. The pots/pans were disgusting. Glad we brought our own.Pool has black mold on edges and bottom is bubbled up. Game room had pizza box and soda bottles there for 2 days before we cleaned it for them.Spilled popcorn the entire stay right in front of change machine. Dog park was great! Putt putt golf needs many repairs to the greens. More than 50% of washer/dryers out of service at laundrymat. Pancake breakfast great. Staff friendly. Prompt with trash pickup.Great location. Needs someone with attention to details in charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriwestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I must admit I read the reviews and thought I would be in for a wild weekend. This was our first time camping in a travel trailer ever(34 feet). We arrived around 5pm and were met by nothing but friendly, smiling people. We were even offered an escort to our spot since we have never been there before. We stayed at site 54 with the cement patio, fire ring and picnic table. The sites are close but we had wonderful neighbors who were so helpful in helping us set up. We had plenty of room for our trailer and to park our truck in front of it. There really is enough to keep you busy in activities but we did venture out for the town sights. If you forget something the store will most likely carry it and the prices are reasonable. The free pancake breakfast was great. At night there were a few rowdy people but nothing to complain about. We will be returning soon. I highly recommend going to the National Park which is to the right of the road you turned on to get into KOA. You pay $10 to park but that includes the bus ride into downtown Harper's Ferry. Since you have to pay $10 to park downtown anyway and gamble with ever finding a spot it is so worth it. $10 covers all who fit in your one vehicle. KOA was packed when we got there but it did not stop us from having a wonderful time in and outside of the campground.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed mid week, in a tent, so it was quiet. It would be miserable if it was full. The sites are right on top of each other. It was $46 for one night. They charged me extra for an additional child, even though I was only one adult. The shower was hot, and there are lots of activities for the kids, so they had fun. The sites are super small and lots of small micro litter around. No grass only rocks, so bring a tarp to lay under your tent, and a table cloth for the overused picnic table. The pancake breakfast is only pancakes. If you want coffee, water, or juice you pay extra (a lot extra). Staff is unfriendly. I bought firewood from a local resident that lives just outside the entrance. He was super nice and the firewood was dry and cheaper than the KOA.

If you go mid week, its probably ok. Also if you just want somewhere easy, and you don't plan to stay long, its convenient. Avoid on busy weekend, and if you want privacy and a "true" camping experience, or have a larger tent, find somewhere else

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaGrandegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews