We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice!”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in the cabins along the river. It was quite a hike to the main lodge, bu the cabins were very spacious and comfortable. It was a little hot and we didn't have much time to enjoy sitting on the full sized deck looking over the Colorado River, but it would have been great another time of year.

We used the pool, went horseback riding, went rafting and hiking at the nearby Arches National Park. Loved the museum in the main lodge of the memorable movies filmed in the area. The scenery was amazing. The stables and staff there were awesome. We opted for a short ride and it was just enough fun. Love how the stable hands put us in the mood with hats, bandanas and riding packs for our water. The horses were well behaved and gentle.

Our meals were great in the main lobby. Dinner out on the deck was very nice, lunch near the river was fun and Sunday brunch was great! There were large private rooms our group used that were quiet and very accommodating.

I took a look around at the other room configurations at the resort and was very pleased. They were all suites with either a King or two beds on the level you entered and then there were a few steps down into a sitting area with a couch, table and chairs and a counter with a small refidgerator and microwave. Sliding glass doors opened to a nice patio either over looking a small brook or the Colorado River.

All in all it was a very nice spread out resort with family touches and hospitality.

Room Tip: If you want a large cabin, you will be away from the main lobby. If you have a car with you, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,860 of 2,974 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were genuinely impressed with our stay at Red Cliffs Lodge this spring 14 miles upstream from Moab on the Colorado River. The creek-side Queen suite included an ample bedroom and two steps down, a small kitchen area equipped with under-counter refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. Basic utensils were also provided. There was also a small patio facing Castle Creek that was remarkably private. The well water on the premises is extremely hard, so an extra faucet on the bathroom and kitchen sinks provided reverse-osmosis filtered water for drinking. The accommodations were airy and spacious. My primary criticism would be that the room felt very dark. All of the walls are painted in a bold color and perhaps even one white wall might have made the space a little lighter. Although WiFi is provided, we were unable to get out computers to connect and ended up using the hard-wired connection that was also provided. Because of our stay early in the season, the pool was not open and we did not try the hot spa.
Another person in our party rented one of the riverside two bedroom cabins. The two bedrooms were connected by a shared bathroom and the main sitting area had a gas fireplace as well as a kitchen arrangement similar to the Queen suites. The deck overlooking the Colorado River was spacious and relatively private. While sitting out there enjoying our morning coffee, we spotted three big horn sheep making their way down to the river for a drink on the other side before heading back up the cliff side. Unlike the Queen suite, the cabins were light and airy due to the large windows and sliding door out to the deck on the riverside. We also encountered no problems with the WiFi in the cabin.
In addition, the lodge has a restaurant on site. We approached the restaurant with some trepidation fearing that being a semi-captive clientele, there might not be a lot of motivation for providing good food. We need not have worried. The dinners we had were generally excellent. Among the appetizers, we loved the scallops. We requested extra rolls (excellent, fresh baked, even if not home-made) just to lap up the sauce. The lamb chops with a creamy mushroom sauce had a hint of chipotle that gave it an interesting zing. The various steaks we tried were juicy, delicious, and perfectly cooked as was the pork chop with the pineapple salsa. The fish we tried were not quite as successful: the tilapia needed something more to jazz up the relatively bland fish and the granola-encrusted salmon got lost in the granola flavor. For the vegetarians, the lasagna was stuffed with spinach, peppers, and zucchini, although the marinara sauce was a little pedestrian. We indulged in a few desserts including coffee flan, tiramisu, and Bavarian chocolate mousse. They were all excellent.
To round things out, there is also a winery on the grounds of the Lodge. All of the wines were eminently drinkable and reasonably priced in the ten-dollar range. Our favorites were the Chardonnay among the whites and the Outlaw Red (primarily a syrah) among the reds. Who would have expected decent wine in the Theocracy of Utah? We came home with two cases.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We are a family of five and we stayed for three nights l'astre summer. The rooms are very confortable with a nice view on the Collorado river. We also tried the restaurant : a splendid terrasse where you can enjoy the view. You even can enjoy a wine tasting experience at the winery. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You must stay at the Red Cliff Lodge if you want to wake up in the morining - or have a drink on you room terrace in the evenings to the most incredible views!! The views of the canyon, Colorado River, sunrises and sunsets are breathtaking. It is a "bucket list" stay at place. I would recommend this place to everyone. It is a bit of a drive - down this beautiful canyon with the Colorado River right next to the road - but well worth it. This is my 4th year staying the Red Cliff Lodge - and I have some wonderful memeories

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy500Racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hopefully you are not traveling to Moab for an opulent resort...but rather to enjoy the natural beauty. The Red Cliffs Lodge surrounds you with soaring red cliffs that tower over the Colorado river. The cabins are well appointed and all one needs in such a setting. When you have dinner at the restaurant, be certain to sit outside and time it so that you will see the sunset -- it is spectacular! There are numerous state parks within 10-15 minutes of the lodge. Moab is about 25 minutes (15+ miles) from the lodge...which can be either a gift (in terms of peace and quiet) or a bit of a hassle if you want to be close to town.

Room Tip: I would request a King cabin further away from the main lodge...you will feel as though you have ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pd2think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
15 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
15.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 37 in Moab
763 reviews
14.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
14.3 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,401 reviews
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $158 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing