We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome To Jail”
Review of Moab Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moab Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Welcome To Jail”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I've never done "hard time" before, but after staying at this hotel for a week, I think I know what it's like to be in prison. You can look out the window and see all that Moab has to offer: the mountains, the restaurants, the nice hotels, and you can see people enjoying those things. But then you turn around and realize that you're stuck in a shabby, dirty hotel which is taking advantage of you. It's a bad feeling.

Let me start with the continental breakfast ("this garbage is from what continent??" har har...). They take an industrial sized can of fruit cocktail and dump it into a plastic tray. They set out some loaves of wonderbread. They hard boil some eggs and serve them cold. Voila! Breakfast. Don't forget the styrfoam plates and cups, and to throw in some metal folding chairs as seating. I'm serious, folks- this is not only an insult to the guests of the hotel, it's an insult to breakfasts in general. It's junk. Prison food. There are international travelers in Moab who may think that this is representative of an American breakfast. I'm embarrassed.

How about the atmosphere? We'll work from the ground up. The carpets are oddly mismatched (some blue, some red, some green...) and stained. There was a glob of white goo on the floor outside my room for the entire week that I was there. The doors all look like closet doors. There is mismatched vinyl glued to all sorts of random surfaces. The dresser would have been right at home in a trailer park, and the table and chairs (also mismatched) may have come from a high school library or Army surplus store. Cap it all off with a stained drop ceiling.

The mattress made a metallic grinding sound when I sat on it, and it's definitely not supposed to do that. Nor was it comfortable, at all.

Housekeeping. What did they do? They replaced my shampoo and towels and they tidied up the bed. And that was all they did. I got take-out on my first night, and the dirty container with a half-eaten biscuit on top of it was still there when I left. 7 days later. Yes I could have thrown it out on my own, but it became a stand-off, which I won. I did not touch the biscuit! They didn't vacuum, didn't change the sheets, didn't empty the coffee pot. New soap, new towels, and good luck to you.

Yes, I am writing a long and bitter review of this place, but they give me bitter feelings. I think they're taking advantage of travelers: with demand for lodging so high in Moab, why improve? Why invest? Why keep the place comfortable and clean? For every angry traveler who is grossed out by this place and will never return, there are 10 more out there who are fighting to get in. And so they continue raking in the money while we as customers suffer the consequences.

So, there you have it. If you're desperate for a room, as many travelers headed to Moab are, and all you want is a place to keep the rain and animals off of you while you sleep, then this is the place. But if you're looking for something more, like a nice place, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattyDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, General Manager at Moab Valley Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your recent stay did not meet your expectations, however, myself or my staff would have been more than happy to assist you in finding alternate accomodations more to your liking with no cancellation penalty or early checkout fee. True we are not the newest facility in Moab but we strive to provide clean rooms and excellent customer service and have many satisfied repeat customers that have been coming back year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    373
    172
    39
    29
See reviews for
286
323
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent two nights in Moab and this hotel during our road trip of the National Parks. It was an okay hotel, nothing special, rooms were fine and what you would expect for a motel type place. It does have a smallish pool which was quite nice to come back to after the heat of the day and we never saw more than a couple of people using it on both days. The price does include a continental style breakfast where you could make yourself hot oats (they have a microwave there), toast, cereals and fruit with juice and coffee and they do provide a coffee machine in the rooms. This hotel suited its purpose.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TF1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is an OK hotel. It is a little dated. but the room was big and clean.The staff was friendly. But the price should not be 120$ I think. It is overpriced. However it was close to the Arches.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We home based here to visit the national parks, the room was very dated with a miserable bed, But, good location and it was clean and quiet, never tried the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were at the Moab Valley Inn on our trip from Aspen, CO to Monument Valley and back. we stayed one night, checked out to drive south and possibly stay somewhere south for the next night. That didn't happen so we deciced to go back to the Moab Valley Inn the next night. Meanwhile my sister noticed that she had forgotten here blouse the night before. So we asked the housekeeping manager Crystal Sims if they found the blouse. She was very rude right from the beginning and said: "I really don't understand why you guys checked out and then come back" - she wanted an explanation for that. I replied, that there is no reason to tell her because it was non of her business and that it really did not matter. Her response: "Well, than I have to tell you, that we are not responsible for lost items here in the hotel". That is ridiculous in my world!
We are going dirt biking in Moab about 5-10 times per year with a bunch of people and often we stayed in the Moab Valley Inn, but this was the last time. Not even the General Manager (Susan Storey) called back after I left a complaint on her voice mail. Anyway - it was the last time for me and friends staying in the Moab Valley Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giaco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Moab Slickrock Area
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
4.3 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#10 of 35 in Moab
1,340 reviews
0.9 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moab Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moab Valley Inn

Property: Moab Valley Inn
Address: 711 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2967
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Moab
Price range (per night): $155 - $376
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moab Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the scenic beauty of southeastern Utah at the Moab Valley Inn. Located in the heart of Moab, UT, our hotel is minutes away from some of the country's best hiking, mountain biking, climbing, rafting and camping. We have a variety of spacious, family friendly accommodations, and all of our rooms include free wireless Internet access and a continental breakfast. Whether you want to visit Arches National Park, go 4-wheeling in the desert, attend one of Moab's seasonal events or simply relax in our swimming pool and Jacuzzi, you will find everything you're looking for at the Moab Valley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moab Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moab Valley Hotel Moab
Moab Valley Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing