We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For TW fans”

Thomas Wolfe Memorial
Ranked #12 of 192 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thomas Wolfe's childhood home, immortalized in his 1929 novel, "Look Homeward Angel," is preserved intact as a lasting monument to one of the 20th century's most prominent writers. The house, originally operated as a boardinghouse by his mother, retains most of its original furnishings and is designated as a National Historic Landmark. Tours of the 29 room house are offered hourly. The adjacent visitor center and museum highlight Wolfe's life and major literary accomplishments.
Asheville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For TW fans”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is probably not high on your list if you have never heard of Thomas Wolf. Well preserved and in heart of downtown. Welcome center.

Helpful?
Thank smountaintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    108
    29
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Took our friends through the Old Kentucky Home and really enjoyed it. Staff has extensive knowledge of Thomas Wolfe and the early days of Asheville.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hikersNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“College days recalled”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I never thought I would actually visit Thomas Wolfe's home, but I did! Now I have to go home and re-read all the books I read when I was in college. The stories about the rooms (told by a very well-spoken guide) brought back floods of memories. I can't wait to start cracking open those books! This is a worthwhile tour for the Wolfe lover. The museum is beautifully designed and full of creative displays that truly capture the essence of life in the early 1900's in Asheville. Well done!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge, louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A bargain tour”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Confession time. I've never read a Thomas Wolfe book. But my husband has and he wanted to visit. I like old houses so it was a win-win. This is the boarding house that Thomas Wolfe's mother ran when he was growing up. It looks much the same as it did back in her day since it was owned by family members until it became a museum. An annex to the museum gives you a good history of Wolfe's short life. There are terrific exhibits and a short movie. Apparently, Asheville wasn't fond of him after he patterned the characters in one of his books after many of the town's residents. The house itself is a rambling Victorian that gives you a good idea of what a boarding house at the turn of the last century would have been like. Hint: Very little privacy. You won't see Thomas Wolfe's bedroom. He slept wherever there was a free bed or a floor. His mother was in business to make a buck. The operators of this museum apparently are more into a labor of love. The tour costs a dollar.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank louisianagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stop For Book Lovers”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is located downtown, but pretty easy to get to. If you are a book lover, you'll get a kick out of it. You can pick-up a copy of Wolfe's "Look Homeward Angel", after the tour. And, if you are adventurous, you can then drive down I-26 to Hendersonville ... follow Hwy. 64W to the edge of town ... there you'll find Oakdale Cemetary where Wolfe's famous angel resides.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Wolfe Memorial also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Thomas Wolfe Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing