We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
So glad we stopped in

Moogseum is a must see while in Asheville! It was interactive, the staff was helpful and you get to... read more

Reviewed 22 February 2021
elijahroberts
via mobile
Interesting gem in music history

Music lovers will enjoy this quaint museum. Hands on experience with their interactive stations... read more

Reviewed 11 February 2021
travelingwteens
,
Roswell, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 13 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Asheville
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$20.52
More Info
from US$37.95
More Info
from US$68.09
More Info
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
11
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interactive stuff music lovers learn how his life synthesizer timeline instruments video museum information history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

Moogseum is a must see while in Asheville! It was interactive, the staff was helpful and you get to create music! My two-year was even able to hear and play tunes.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank elijahroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

Music lovers will enjoy this quaint museum. Hands on experience with their interactive stations setup throughout. Reasonably priced. Expect to spend an hour.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank travelingwteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

We have been waiting for this museum to reopen after the COVID shutdown and we were not disappointed! Yes, it is a small store front, but you really have to take your time to get the full experience. It is packed with information about a truly unique and inspiring individual, Bob Moog. We are not musicians, but music lovers and really enjoyed all the exhibits especially the interactive ones. It reminded us of a mini Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We especially enjoyed taking the time to listen on headphones to all the music that used Moog synthesizers; everything from The Doors to Prince and so much more. And don’t forget to check out the gift shop on your way out as they have a great selection of items including beautifully designed t-shirts. If you come to Asheville we definitely recommend a stop here!

Date of experience: September 2020
2  Thank Jenniferterris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMgr19, Manager at Moogseum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Jennifer, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, and thank you for the glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

As a music educator, I was curious about this small "museum" so I made sure to stop in. I learned about Robert Moog, who lived near Asheville for part of his life, his interest in synthesized sound and the development of the synthesizer over time. There are places to listen to music, and places to "play" with instruments that create sound. You don't need a lot of time here, but don't be surprised if you get caught up with the creation of these unique sounds.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank SongbirdTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsMgr19, Manager at Moogseum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!
We find people spend about 30-45 minutes on average for a visit but some spend the whole day with us and then come back to see things they missed. The Moogseum is small in size but it's big on content with over 1,000 digitally archived pieces in addition to the instruments to play, the immersive dome, a expansive jukebox of songs featuring Moog synthesizers and a replication of Bob's work space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019

The title really tells it all. I know that little niche museums have a tough time, and we like to patronize them to help them make a go of it, BUT, it has to be worth it! It was interesting to read about Robert Moog, but I would love to have heard the woman playing it in concert and been able to use the interactive displays more. It was frustrating and a waste of time. It is $6.50/person.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank batbirdbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews