We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd stay here, charming as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our 3rd stay here, charming as always”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been here twice before as romantic getaways so now that we were married last November (2011) we decided to have a mini-honeymoon at Carolina B&B which holds a fond place in our hearts.
As always Susan and James are such amazingly gracious hosts. They have great sense of when to help and when to leave you in peace. Their home is very relaxing and quiet and located in a very cool neighborhood (perfect for afternoon strolls). Be prepared for some great breakfasts as well as an enjoyable social hour in the evening.
We booked a different room this occasion and enjoyed it equally as well as our previous favorite (Mockingbird).
We heard another guest comment to Susan about how well they slept and asked about the mattress. While the beds are indeed great with wonderful pillows and linens we believe the secret is in consistently creating a warm, relaxing atmosphere that lets you just unwind with ease, time and time again.

Room Tip: Both Mockingbird and Goldfinch are quiet and roomy with great baths and fireplaces. Mockingbird is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
505
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I recently stayed in the cottage house and couldn't have asked for anything more, just outside the inn we got up in the morning and made the very short walk to the dining room for breakfast. The food was incredible, Susan is quite the cook, between breakfast and the nightly happy hour we were very well fed. For those that are unaware Asheville has a large beer culture with many local breweries near by, Susan and James directed us to a local beer tour that was a lot of fun and a great way to see the surrounding area and some local culture. The Inn is a short walk from downtown and was a wonderful place to stay and I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: The cottage was wonderful, your own private retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamecockjoe915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The place is beautiful both on the exterior and interior. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We stayed in the Mrs. Webb room and the bed is extremely comfy. The atmosphere of the Carolina B&B screams elegance and romance without being stuffy or pretentious. It was this fact that gave me the inclination to propose to my now fiancee' in the Mrs. Webb room. Needless to say, she said YES and I definitely owe a great portion of credit to this lovely establishment for my successful proposal.

Sara is an amazing host and her meals are top notch! On a scale from 1 - 10, I would give her food a 20! That's not an exaggeration. It is certainly THAT good! I highly recommend the Carolina B&B for couples visiting downtown Asheville.

The location is great too because it is within walking distance of downtown and some other restaurants in the neighborhood.

Overall, it was A+++++ and I'm going to book another stay in the near future. Thanks Sara and Carolina B&B!

Room Tip: Mrs. Webb room for 1st floor, others are on the 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Sara is a fantastic host. My wife and I decided to spend a weekend in Asheville
on the spur of the moment. I called and Sara returned my call in a professional manner and informed me there was one room available. She made us feel welcome on arrival and she had a sincere interest in our satisfaction. The accomodations were good, the guests were friendly and there was a sense of professional pride at this B&B. The food was outstanding. We have stayed at many B&B's throughtout the country and the owners are fortunate to have Sara working for them. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I could not imagine a better place to stay. Sara was very hospitable and her cooking is fantastic. We are a young couple concerned about money and decided to splurge and stay here at $150/night. Could not have made a better decision and we honestly saved money. Breakfast was huge, so we skipped lunch. In the evening the happy hour was so yummy we always ended up over eating and skipping dinner. There was construction in the back, but it was hardly noticeable and not any bother. We will stay here EVER time we go to Asheville now. Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic! Oh and did I mention it was a quick, easy walk (.5 miles) to downtown and right around the corner from a fantastic restaurant The Nine Mile. Great Choice!

Room Tip: No pets allowed... Be careful about over eating (food is good)... call first if you have a disabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
231 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): $184 - $307
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing