We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$211
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$243
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$200
US$194
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$188
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$195
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$286
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

HI Boston(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Verb Hotel(Boston)
US$199
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
320
294
66
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
294
66
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay windowgreat locationpublic alleyroom facingbreakfast was includedstay there againyogurtthe hynes convention centerfourth floorattached restaurantevery morningrestaurants and shopsroom was clean and comfortablestayed here for nightsbed and breakfastgreat shoppingstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2013

It's the sweet spot to be in Boston. It's practically smack down in the shopping district of Boston. It's the cheapest you could get amidst the swanky hotels around without compromising the comfort of your stay. The place is very clean and the staff is very accommodating. It's 3-4 blocks from the train station and very accessible to all modes of transport. I'm currently staying here and all I can say is it's the sweetest spot to stay around Boston for the bang for your buck.

Room Tip: It's a block away from Prudential Shopping Center. So many shops and restaurants, so li'l time.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemmingsgamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Loved the location, the light from the window, the firm mattress, the delicious (complimentary) breakfast, the coffee and herbal tea available all day, the pleasant desk staff, the generous and pretty room and the location--did I mention the location? The only downside was...voices carry! Walls are thin and TV (& conversations) bleed right through, room to room. Luckily I was with a considerate crowd, but when I realized that my neighbors (must've) heard my phone calls and showers...I felt a bit shy. Still! Perfectly located and beautifully priced: a gem! Very clean!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubjectTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just returned from a visit to Boston; we stayed at a wonderful Inn, the Newbury Guest House, lon Newbury Street in the Back Bay section of Boston, in the heart of Copley Square. It is a lovely guest house that has the advantage of being located in a top area of the city, within walking distance of many places as well as close to the "T".

Our room was large, attractive and very comfortable, overlooking the street with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The parking in the back is in a Public Alley and we had no problem moving our Highlander in and out of there. Breakfast at The Creperie was quite good [with daily copies of the NY Times, Boston Globe and other newspapers provided at no cost to guests] and we enjoyed the shops and restaurants that make the area so lively and fun to walk through. The street was decorated with white holiday lights which brought an extra sparkle to the view. Staff was quite helpful for directions or recommendations and maps/brochures/local information is also available for guests.

Since the Guest House is in a former brownstone [actually 3 of them combined together in a really well designed manner], guest rooms will either have a view over Newbury Street or the Public Alley [used for parking and faces the backs of other buildings]. Newbury Streeet attracts a lot of visitors, both walkers and drivers with all of the businesses on it. As our visit was in December and it was quite cold, there was little late night foot traffic on the street. However, our room was on the second floor and we could hear anyone speaking outside in addition to the car traffic. In warmer weather, those who want a quiet room should ask for one on a higher floor [there is an elevator].

We enjoyed our visit and are very glad to have stayed at the Newbury Guest House.

Room Tip: The view of Newbury Street is lovely; for a quiet stay, ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize street and foot traffic noise. The rooms facing the back, overlooking the Public Alley, will be quieter most of the time but look out at the rear of other buildings. We did hear a little noise from guests staying in rooms near and above our's but it was overall very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dephalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed here in December with my husband. Great location near shops and subway and walking distance to the downtown area and park with the freedom trail. The room was clean, not massive but we didn't expect it to be. Cleaned daily. Nice breakfast in the creperie. Great trip to Boston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Service - I arrived at the Newbury Guest House at 7:30 am. And although check in wasn't until 3pm, they had a room ready and checked me in, they even urged me to have breakfast next door. The staff went out of their way to welcome you and provided guests with good recommendations on sites, restaurants and the like.
Rooms - we had a room on the second floor and were given a choice between street side or not, we opted for street side. The room was nice and clean. It was fairly spacious for a room with two queen beds. If you're sensitive to noise, I'd suggest not picking a room on the street side as the street noise may bother you.
The bed was comfortable and linen was clean. Housekeeping staff go out of their way to ensure your room is nice and clean when you return.
Food - the daily breakfast offering was simple. Nothing to write home about, but definitely grateful that for he price and location, it was a good deal.
Location - great location! Right in the heart of bustling Newbury street. Shops, restaurants, metro stations are all within a comfortable walking distance.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews