We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel- Service at its best!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel- Service at its best!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for a 3 day business trip. The Hotel is beautfiul, with a mix of old world charm and modern. It was an excellent stay with very large and comformatble rooms. All the details were there from friendly staff to nice bathroom products to good restaurants and close to shopping on Newbury Street. However, the main thing that blew me away was- THE STAFF. The staff from the door man, front desk to the cleaners are so kind and thoughtfull. They give great recommendations on things to do in the area as well as make sure your stay is great. They really go above and beyond. I had requested a wake up call, and the phone volume was so low, I didn't hear it- they actually came up and knocked on my door to get me up! (Thank goodness, otherwise I would have missed my flight). It was also my birthday, and they sent up a special gift that really made made my day. My recommendation: STAY HERE!, it may not be the closest hotel to downtown, but the service and ambiance make it worth the extra 10 min walk!

Room Tip: The king suite has a complete living room area- which make the stay very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,483
    692
    147
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,399
1,274
204
926
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three weeks for business, and it has been a long time since I have experience such a high level of hospitality. Everyone from the doorman to the maids were overly friendly and seemed to honestly enjoy their jobs. The location is great as it is a few minute walk to Fenway Park. The accommodations are excellent and if I needed anything, the front desk had it in my room within minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had another great visit at Hotel Commonwealth for their annual Bedtime Stories Event.
In fact, staying at the hotel was the one thing our kids told everyone who asked them what they were doing for vacation. They didn’t mention going to Cape Cod or birthday parties, but they always told people how excited they were to go back to Hotel Commonwealth. They were not disappointed and loved the backpacks filled with books, LL Bean slippers, lip balm, sunglasses and flashlights. When there was a knock at the door a few minutes after we got to our rooms, the kids guessed cookies and milk and they were right! The reading event in the ballroom was followed by a fix your own hot chocolate bar for the kids and adult beverages for us. We all had fun at the event and the kids went to bed excited for the make your own pancake breakfast in the morning. The accommodations were clean, stylish and comfortable and the staff at the hotel is so friendly and accommodating. I love the Fresh Product toiletries that are provided to guests. The high pressure shower was just the thing needed to wake us up in the morning. At the breakfast, the kids decorated and donned their chef hats and made the pancake batter. They picked out their pancake toppings of fruit and chocolate and we all had a nice big breakfast. We enjoyed walking around Newbury Street and then going to the new playground on the esplanade. All in all, another great time spent at Hotel Commonwealth’s Bedtime Stories Event.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel was really great to stay at. The staff was extremely helpful with all of my needs. Everything was in a convenient walking distance. There is a 7-Eleven on the corner, which I stopped at frequently. Eastern Standard, which is inside the hotel, had delicious food without having to leave the hotel. The only thing I wish this hotel had was a pool and/or jacuzzi to relax in after walking around Boston all day. All around great accommodations. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel was beautiful, comfortable, and very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defreitaslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,273 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $336 - $775
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing