We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neighborhood gem for about 3 decades”
Review of 224 Boston Street

224 Boston Street
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 01/08
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #303 of 3,105 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

224 has been a fixture in the neighborhood for about 30 years. Ownership changed recently, but the cuisine is still wonderful. Evidently the new owners have four other restaurants in the area, so they know what they’re doing.We had salads with grilled scallops and grilled salmon. Everything was fresh and delicious. The chicken wing appetizers were outstanding – we liked the dry rub they used. The Cape Cod oysters were fresh and delicious, too. Our server was very good, and the atmosphere is very local and cozy. The bar area is dark wood with nice big tables. 224 is a nice neighborhood place, and is within walking distance to the hotels being by the South Bat shopping area.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

One of the best meals we experienced on our trip to Boston!! Even the bread was delicious! Don’t miss this gem!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ShellyJ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

We walked into the restuarant to receive a warm welcome and attentive service the whole evening. The food was absolutely superb. Frankly way beyond anything we expected in Dorchester. Simply a wonderful local Boston experience for folks from overseas.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Navigate27409978084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

This place is excellent, highly recommend for brunch/dinner or even just drinks. The menu has great value and the atmosphere is amazing

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Was visiting family in Dorchester, wanted lunch/brunch in walking distance. Son recommended this place. It was so good. I had the French toast, others ordered eggs Benedict, an omelet and the hash.. all were great..the potatoes with the eggs were awesome

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank CherylB752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 224 Boston Street also viewed

 

Been to 224 Boston Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.