We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a water view (maybe)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for one night on the 7th floor facing the river, in a king size bedroom. Full bathtub, separate shower, glamour bathroom. One caveat: sliding window/pass through from headboard to bathroom. If you aren't close to your roommate you will be afterwards. No problem as we live together already, but you might need to raise the volume on your i-pod (for which ther was a cradle on the alarm clock). Interior lighting in the room is customizable and very swank. The Rumba (rum and champagne) Bar downstairs is attempting to be urban hipster friendly, but is really a hotel bar with awesome couches and descent if not speedy service. Can't speak to the restaurant because we didn't dine there, but outside seating looks nice and overlooks the river. Concierge was super useful and nice. Aside from the not unusual closing of the heavy room doors, it was a very quiet hotel. We were there on a Sunday night and it was very peaceful. Did not have time to try the pool at the spa but it looks nice.

Room Tip: Ask for river view upper floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank History_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our concierge has great “in the know” tips about the Boston area and can give you even more advice next time you visit. Our location is very convenient - walking distance to many attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. It is great to hear you got a chance to experience RumBa, our sassy rum-themed bar serving international distilled rums, appetizers, and mixes of Latin and Caribbean music. Also in our lobby, we feature an international feast of chic restaurants and bars that reflect a journey around the world. Our Provence themed brasserie, Miel "Brasserie Provençale" celebrates the intoxicating flavors of France’s Côte d’Azur. East meets West at Sushi-Teq, a chic salsa bar pairing sushi with vintage tequila. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,796 - 3,800 of 4,516 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel had all the bells and whistles one could hope for in a big city! Every attention to detail is noticed as you walk thru this modern and clean property. The Jr. Suite we had was nice and large, and the soaking tub in the bathroom was very zen and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful at every opportunity they had to address you. The spa/fitness center is quite large and we never had to wait for anything. The location is right in the heart of downtown on the water front which = amazing views!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottago33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our sophisticated, elegant guestrooms are the perfect fusion of beauty and practicality; a place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We’re delighted you had a chance to experience our spa and health club as it is often overlooked. Our hidden gem is equipped with state-of-the art weight and cardio training equipment, a 45-foot indoor heated lap pool, steam rooms, locker rooms, six dedicated spa treatment rooms, and an extensive collection of healing spa services, including massage therapy, body treatments and facial care. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in that hotel for 4nights. We had 2 double rooms. the rooms were nicely decorated and the bathroom was one of the nicest I have seen in a long time. It was big and bright and featured both a tub and a shower. The staff was nice and helpful, even with my loud tribe. The hotel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the aquarium, the faneuil market, the italiant neighbourghood, chinatown, downtown, etc. We actually didn't feel the need to use our car as we walked everywhere, or took the subway. We were vry happy woth our choice of hotel, and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and it is a pleasure when we hear from a guest who truly enjoys their stay. Our staff strives to upkeep and maintain our facilities to exceed our guests expectations. It is great to hear that you indulged in our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities that assist with work and play. Our bathrooms are laden with luxuriating amenities that offer a spa-like experience and we are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stay here last week for business and the location was great five minutes from everything. My room was gorgeous and faced Atlantic Ave. Valet parking was nice but a bit expensive. I would have not parked at this property at $40 a night if it were not being picked up by my company. There is a lot just a short walk over the bridge that charge 1/2 that price. Seven eleven a short walk going towards North End not far from Dunkin Donuts. Pick up what you need there. Nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the airport view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fou4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! We realize that many of our guests’ visits are a combination of business and pleasure, so our facilities are designed to accommodate both. With the perfect mixture of luxurious, stylish accommodations that complement a demanding lifestyle, you can still have a perfect getaway even if there is work to be done. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Regrettably the front desk at this hotel provides the most inhospitable level of customer service I have experienced. After more than a couple of stays at this property I will not stay again. The onus at the front desk seems to be on the customer to "Prove You Are Worthy". I am an Ambassador Club member, challenged as to what room I reserved, fortunately had my reservation, questioned as to whether I had used my breakfast coupon previously and told no upgrade regardless of my Ambassador, guaranteed upgrade membership. The balance of the service provided was very good and I appreciated the housekeeping and bell desk folks immensely.The location is great but the front desk service aaargh!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihg care at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Digstravel,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the InterContinental Boston. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience with the front desk staff, and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. IHGCare ^bj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,963 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,960 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $259 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing