We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental for four nights while attending the Yankee Dental Congress. The room (1107) looked over the waterway with the harbor in the distance to the right - straight ahead was a view of more rooms. Amenities are in line for this level of hotel. The bed was firm. Some hotel beds are so thumb sucking comfortable that you daydream about them during the day - Don't expect that experience. But the pillows were comfy and did not have that sweaty head odor. Big soaking tub with separate shower. I agree that the sliding window between bedroom and bath is kind of weird but I guess it makes the room seem bigger. Temperature control in the room is very limited, as is the case with so many large hotels. We like a cool (OK - cold) room at night, so it was nice to be able to crack open the lower pane of one of the floor-to-ceiling windows. All staff were friendly and helpful. Room service was good. Had breakfast at the Miele restaurant onsite one morning. Pricey but the atmosphere was nice. Internet was free due to association with the Yankee Dental Congress. I truly resent properties that still charge for internet access, which this property normally does. Charging for internet is such a cheap shot ripoff. Try not to use the laundry service - almost cheaper to buy a new shirt. Don't know about regular pricing since we had special conference rates but I would be comfortable paying $200/night for this room, no more than that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,433 - 3,437 of 4,504 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

I am what must call a road-warrior for the last 9 years and thus I have stayed at many Intercontinental Hotels in the past and the Boston property is a relatively nicely appointed one, with nice staff and good food options. In general, a consistent chain but no clear character that makes it stand out.
My only bad experience was losing a piece of personal property that was only used inside the room on my first night where I stayed for three nights, which after realizing that it was no longer in my room by the end of day two I had little to no assistance from this hotel. One can only wish that there would be a process to formally report this type of events but no such luck...and to make matters worse my own company doesn't have policies to cover personal losses during the conduction of business. Bottom line: no matter how rushed you are...keep track of your belongings even if you are the only one using the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier Ander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear xavierCT75,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Boston.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I recently made a reservation online for a business meeting in Boston with Intercontinental. After my business plans changed, I called the hotel to cancel my stay (more than a week notice). I was told that because I paid in full at the time of reservation, that I could not get a refund for my cancelled stay.

This is very poor business practice and customer service. This hotel is basically telling me that if you pay ahead, you will be penalized if plans changed. I understand that there may have been some fine print that I should have have paid more attention to. But I was used to easy transactions with hotels like Marriott, so this staunch refusal of refund was a shock. You must be fair to your potential customers and Intercontinental does not follow this credo.

Intercontinental not refunding my $506.53 because my travel plans changed is wrong. I am very disappointed with this hotel and will let my company travel agent (we have a home office in Boston) know to stick with the Marriott (which we most often use) as Intercontinental hotel chain is difficult to work with (especially with business travel plans so frequently changing).

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank jhart88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear jhart88888,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to follow up with you regarding this matter. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great location, wonderful modern rooms, beautiful bathrooms, very comfortable beds. True, it is expensive, but it is just perfect. Ask for a waterfront room: it is more quiet and you will have a wonderful view.

Room Tip: waterfront room, e.g. 1145
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtlezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Many hotels relegate the fitness center to a room off to the side with no view. Not the InterContinental, which sports a gym with floor-to-ceiling windows that look out onto Atlantic Avenue.

The gym included bikes, ellipticals, treadmills, weights and an assortment of yoga equipment.

The rest of the hotel has a comfortable, dark-wood decor. My room had a bathtub to complement the shower.

This hotel is only a few blocks from South Station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Jaypo7,

Thank you for your detailed review of our location, guestrooms and Fitness Center. We believe that our guests should work out in an inspiring setting and are delighted you enjoyed the welcoming environment of our Fitness Center. We now offer fun fitness classes during the week and suggest you try a class the next time you stay with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your future visit!

Best,

Michael Ditterline
Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston
michael.ditterline@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,960 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,959 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,411 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $227 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing