We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-August using a Priority Club award, which I feel was a great usage of my accumulated points. I was pleased with the hotel location along the Fort Point Channel - it was possible to walk everywhere, yet also close to the water taxis, ferries, bus terminal (South Station), and subway lines. I walked to Fanieul Hall, the Seaport area, Financial District, Chinatown, etc. The lobby is very modern looking, and there is a small gift shop, fitness center/spa/pool (which I did not see), sushi restaurant (Sushi-Teq), French brasserie (Miel), and rum bar (RumBa). There is some outdoor seating on the promenade along the river, so if it's a nice day, you can eat and dine outside while enjoying the view. There is a small, pretty park outside the front door of the hotel. The guestrooms and bathrooms were spacious. I had read some reviews about the sliding frosted glass panels between the bathroom and the bedroom areas, and I found them to be an interesting artistic touch that didn't hinder our privacy too much (although it's not as private as a traditional wall, obviously). The bathrooms have a separate standing shower and soaking tub, and bathrobes are provided. The bath products were standard Holiday Inn issue - disappointing for their flagship brand! There is a safe and umbrella in the closet. The rooms have mini-bars, but guests are warned not to touch or move anything, because they use an electronic system that charges you for things that you merely touch but do not consume. Parking was not included, but offered for $39 per day. The ICON garage is just passed the hotel entryway. I'm not sure if the rates are better if you park your car yourself (we used the valet); it is all covered/underground parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,995 - 3,999 of 4,563 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

Some of the other reviews mention not liking the unique feel of the room with the sliding door into the bathroom. I liked it because it makes the room seem larger. I only stayed for one night but I thought the room was one of the best I've stayed in. We had a dinner in the private dining room that was outstanding. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsimp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have stayed here about 6 times. We live 2 hours away by car and love to take long weekends to enjoying Boston. In fact we joined the Ambassador Club for $150 to receive a room upgrade and 4PM checkout each stay (Other benefits also) .
This is the sort of place where you like stay around the room, and enjoy a drink while looking out the window at the outside. The health club spa is ok, a bit limited for equipment but the basic stuff is fine. The spa has a great Steam room that they don't charge extra to use.
The staff is outstanding and really want you to be pleased. Much better restaurants in Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markar1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

There was a fire at 2AM, all guests evacuated and told to try to get a room somewhere else. We did by about 5AM. Have no idea when it opened up again, but it wasn't that soon because they were starting to evacuate people from the residence at 5. Set our alarm to called back at 10:15AM - still groggy to find out what to do next. Asked if we could have any extra time to collect our stuff because we wanted to sleep and we were some distance away. We asked if they could at least comp parking when we come to pick up our stuff (after we had to pay for a taxi and our lodging elsewhere, in addition to the night we paid for at IC) They said no. No guests will be receiving any complimentary anything.

OK, bad stuff happens. But character shows in how they deal with it. They dealt with it by saying Ha ha ha, we get your money and you get nothing and now have to spend more money, sucker.

So, 1-star for the service, obviously. 1-star for the value-obviously. 1-star for the room (a room you can't sleep in has no quality), and 1 star for sleep quality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Not_so_hip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2010

As you are aware, due to an electrical fire which occurred in the garage in the InterContinental Boston early Saturday morning on August 21st, 2010, the Boston Fire Department determined that the hotel needed to be evacuated for precautionary measures to ensure our guests' safety. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and are comping the room and tax for all guests who were affected by the evacuation that night. Should you have any questions, please contact the hotel and speak directly with our hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This is one of the more expensive hotels in Boston and I'm not sure why they feel they should be able to fetch these rates. We called a few times and requested early check in because of reservations we needed to make that afternoon. Well not only did we not have early check in, we also did not have "on time" check in. We waited more than an hour for the room to be prepared.

The room was fine, but nothing spectacular, I know some of the rooms have great views, ours was of a construction site. We also didn't have nearly enough outlets to do what we needed and the beds were rather small. Certainly better suited for solo sleepers.

Parking is $39 and "valet only" so you can't park your own car, or have access to it later without getting your key from someone. My favorite part of this experience was watching the valet attendant buff scrapes out of a very expensive Mercedes that he had OBVIOSLY caused. Bet they never mentioned that upon collecting the $39.

Overall there are better options in Boston, I'll be choosing one of those next time around.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmh2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,968 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,967 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $259 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing