We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, United States
1 review
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a stately but old hotel in central Boston that is trading on its central location. The staff were all very friendly and helpful but could not make up for the small size of the room and bathroom, functional issues with room equipment, and mediocre food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,422
    2,378
    987
    414
    204
See reviews for
1,679
2,412
396
1,835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent experience, location was right in the middle of almost everything to see. Hotel has a lot of character. Would recommend and would stay there again. Staff were great, extremely helpful especially if you haven't been to Boston before.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Arrived at the Omni Parker House to a definite wow factor as we looked at the outside façade and the beautiful lobby. Check in was swift and friendly with the receptionist giving us information and a city map. We were then taken to our room where the wow turned into WTF, I have never been in such a small hotel room in my life. With myself my husband the bell boy and our suitcases there was not room to move. The fact that the tiny window looked straight onto a brick wall did not help the oppressiveness. When I checked out the bathroom there was no room for one person without having to squeeze round the door. As we were booked in for three nights we went straight down to reception to ask if it was possible to be moved to a slightly bigger room. Once again the receptionist was very helpful and said she would put us in a traditional room that had been adapted for wheelchair access and this would make it a bit bigger. Not sure who's idea it was to put wheelchair accessible rooms on the 11th floor but the lift took us there very quickly. Unfortunately this room was not a great deal bigger, there was certainly no way anyone in a wheel chair could even access the wardrobe or find anywhere to store their chair. The only concession was a hand bar at the side of the toilet. At least this time the bathroom was twice the size so we thought this room would have to do. On living in it we found there was only one bedside table (no room for a second) no where to put the suitcase rack except in front of the long mirror blocking half of that and making it very difficult to use the drawers in the chest of drawers. The worst thing, as we found out that night was the bed - classed as full sized, I am really not sure what size it is. Luckily my husband and I are on the slim size but we spent the whole evening playing spoons, when one turned the other one had to due to lack of space. I am really not sure how an "oversized" American couple could cope - I seriously think as one turned over in the night the other would fall out !!!!!!! Having stayed in many American hotels we have been used to massive rooms and two queen or one king-sized bed.
For the cost we have paid we are very disappointed in the room, no wonder they don't put many photos on their website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a great hotel right outside of the Boston Commons along the freedom trail. There is a lot of historical significance with this hotel, and the hotel has managed to keep up the charm of being an old hotel, while maintaining a clean feeling in the hotel, which is not an easy feat.

We got to the hotel around noon and we were able to check into the hotel room early. We were extremely thankful for this because we were exhausted and a nap was definitely needed. The lobby was very crowded when we arrived due to people checking out and a line of people checking in, but the front desk staff were handling the chaos beautifully.

The room we got didn't have much of a view, but was nice and cozy. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for the 2 of us. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The down-side of the room was the bathroom. It was tiny! I was able to get everything done in there that I needed, but I hit my elbows on walls more than once per visit. If you like a huge bathroom, this is not the hotel for you.

We were very happy with the charm and location of this hotel. We were able to easily walk from the hotel to the blue line to get to the airport early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Decided to do an end-of-summer getaway - sort of like a "last hurrah" (boo! sorry to see summer go!) and thought it would be fun to catch a Red Sox game and stay in the city for a couple days. Certainly been there plenty of times but never the whole weekend - like a mini vacation! Not sure why we chose the Omni other than it was a good location to shopping, T-stops and Faneuil Hall. This place was amazing - especially if you like old historical buildings. We attended a lecture on the history of the city and the hotel itself that was narrated by the guest services manager, Seamus. Honestly, I really hope the Omni appreciates him because he's a real treasure. While I realize it's job to chat everyone up, he really takes time with everyone; finding out a little bit about each guest. We found him so charming and believe he added to our stay.

The hotel itself is beautiful but of course since it's said to be the oldest continuously run hotel in the US, there are parts of it that are dated. It's to be expected I think - we found it very appealing, but if you like modern and slick, don't stay here. It is rather expensive and nothing is included (parking is $39/night, Wi-Fi is $10/day) but after some research, it's fairly comparable to most hotels right in the city. The biggest upside was the bed - OMG seriously the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on and that says a lot for a hotel bed!

This hotel is known for "world famous" Omni Parker House rolls and supposedly "invented" Boston Cream Pie. If I had any complaints about the stay, it would be that there was not enough cream in the cream pie! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimic624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for your review and, yes, be assured that we greatly appreciate the efforts of our Guest Services Manager, Seamus. He is a special member of our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $312 - $758
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing