We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$139
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt House San Diego Sorrento Mesa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$229
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
136
94
36
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
94
36
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel circlefront deskhardwood floorspool and jacuzziconvenience storebig tvbathroom sinksea worldamazing hotelroom was spacious and cleancoffee makerbalboa parkgreat roomsmall fridgemission valleycleaning staffgreat rate
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

First night our experience here was fairly decent. The rooms were not to clean and the hotel did not provide baby cribs. Second night maid did not come and clean room or replace towels. The room was left a mess. I called the front desk and asked if I could please have my room cleaned even left the room for an hour and a half so my family of 4 wouldn't disturbed the maid while she cleaned but the room never got cleaned. call front desk again and they were not helpful and said there was not they could do about it. Overall experience was horrible. Will never return.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bearfamily92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff was polite and accommodating to our early arrival. We asked for a quiet room and they gave us one on the far side of the hotel. Even though the hotel is right off of the highway, we couldn't hear any noise.

We stayed in a room with two queens. The room had a huge flat screen TV. The beds and pillows were VERY comfortable. The air conditioner was quiet and cooled the room down nicely. The shower was easy to use and they had hot water. We missed breakfast in the morning but they still had coffee. Overall, a great stay for under $70!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank melliebean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Thank you very much. We recently purchased the property and we really have put our heart and soul into making it an affordable option that offers clean, well maintained facilities and superior customer service. I hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Nahum Jimenez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Was Very Clean And close to Balboa park and downtown. There was a Mexican restaurant within walking distance as well as the Waffle spot for breakfast. Very close to the freeway. One would think that would be bad but it actually sounded just like my sound machine which blocks other noise. Very, very friendly staff. Nice pool and pool area. Again $70. For a room with two queen beds is very good for San Diego.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaudiaandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

We know you have many choices. Our goal is to offer clean, affordable accommodations and superior customer service. I am glad we meet your expectations.
Nahum Jimenez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

1st the not-so-good:
Cleaning staff did not replace the used towels, mat, and wash cloths.
No carafe in the coffee-maker. Getting it from the breakfast room was not convenient.
Wash basin - though nice-looking - is too tall. I'm 5'3" and had to stand on my toes to wash my face.
Wifi bandwidth definitely needs to be increased.

The good:
VERY comfortable beds! I slept better than a baby. I read complaints on here about "noise" but if it was around us, we slept right through it.
Toilet and shower works great.
Cool-looking modern look to the room.
Hot tub on site, although I did not get to use it.
Rooms are spacious.
Very nice staff at the front desk.

This new motel is still in progress, and I think it will be a great value after the growing pains. I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Portegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are a newly opened hotel and your feedback will help us tremendously. We also appreciate your kind words.
Nahum Jimenez GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

I had very low expectations considering the reviews and the fact that it is an old motel that has been shined up.

We could not have been happier with our stay. It was crispy clean, the bed was comfy with quality linens. The bathroom was tiny but the water pressure great and it was clean!

We did not enjoy the pool but it looked lovely!

If you are on a budget, this is a great choice!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank libra105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews