We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #129 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I thought this hotel was great.
The room was lovely, it had a separate sitting room to watch TV which I loved. Kind of decorated in an old fashioned way.
It was a bargain at less than $110 a night, in a fantastic location right in the middle of the action of the gaslamp area.
The breakfast on the roof is great, and even better that it is included in the already cheap price. There is also a book swap up on the roof, which is a great way to get something new to read on your holiday.
Paying for internet is expensive, but fair enough as it is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angebange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    235
    71
    38
    19
See reviews for
76
263
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I went here with my boyfriend a little while ago while he was going to the ASM meeting. It is a reasonable walk from the Convention Center. It's in a nice part of San Diego, not scary at all at night. There were a lot of cool bars and restaurants around to go to at night. The trolly was close, which took you to different parts of the city, and you can buy passes to ride it. The front desk was SUPER helpful giving tips and directions about where to go while in San Diego!

The hotel was average. Not super luxurious, but nice. It was clean and the maids did a great job cleaning. The rooms are actually about 2x as big as a normal hotel. They come with a huge sitting area to watch tv, which is nice.

In the morning, they have a little continental breakfast up on the rooftop. There were bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, juice. It has an AMAZING view of the city. It's a cool place to take pictures. Also a great place to relax and read during the day.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that is on a higher floor. The city on the weekend is a little loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CotoPeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway. The suite was beautifully decorated and well appointed. We had everything we need - fridge, microwave, glasses, flatscreen, desk, nice bed, and large windows overlooking the neighborhood. The building is interesting and lovely. Though the breakfast is limited, it served its purpose and the rooftop deck offered great views of the area. The repairmen fixed our AC right away & offered suggestions for local restaurants when asked. The front desk staff were quite helpful. All of them were great. We certainly remember Merry; she is warm, energetic & informative. The trolly stop is just 2 blocks away & we found the public transportation system to be easy and cheap. Buy a multi-day pass and you can get everywhere; we did this since parking is very expensive. Coronado, La Jolla, Old Town & the zoo were great. We enjoyed La Fiesta for Mexican food in the Gaslamp. There are lots of homeless in the area, but they were harmless, polite, actually. San Diego is a lovely town with lots to do. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FromJersey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I decided to get away for a couple days for President's weekend before things got real busy. We stayed, for the first time, at Gaslamp Plaza Suites. Without any prior knowledge of this hotel and relying on reviews of others, I booked it. We love being in the center of Gaslamp when we stay in San Diego especially when we catch a Padres game and eat at the incrediable restaurants. This hotel has alot of history being the first skyscraper in San Diego. http://www.gaslampplaza.com/history.html The original materials have been preserved and rooms were clean and updated while retaining its history. We stayed on the 4th floor in the Emerson room. Our Queen bed was comfortable. Our teenage son used the pullout couch, which was not comfortable at all so he slept on the couch it self without the pullout bed. In the morning starting at 7 am they have coffee and a continental breakfast. The coffee was good but the breakfast was run of the mill, carb filled toast, pastries, and cereal. If you want a great breakfast, go to Brians 24 http://www.yelp.com/biz/brians-24-san-diego around the corner next to the lobby of the Ramada. The service at the hotel was excellent! It is valet parking and runs $28 a day but that is reasonable in San Diego and has in and out priviledges. When we needed our car, we phoned down 15 minutes before and it was there when we arrived! The parking attendants were polite abd responsible. A couple of small negatives- the noise on Saturday night was somewhat loud till 2 am but that is to be expected in the city (windows were all updated and kept noise to a minimum) Sunday night was much better, no mirror in the living area-just the bathroom, and the breakfast needs improving. All in all we liked this hotel and our stay in San Diego and will consider this hotel again. It felt like we were back in the 1940's with updated facilites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites in February for a three night stay and were very impressed. It is exactly as seen on their website. We had a one bedroom suite which was perfect. The room sizes were much bigger than expected. We loved the terrace, the views were fabulous and we managed to sit there each morning for breakfast. The continental breakfast was very good and it was complimentary. The decor throughout the hotel was very good, in keeping with the historic building. The staff on the reception were pleasant except on one ocassion when we asked if it was possible to have some milk for our coffee she said we could go and buy some! Not what we really wanted to hear but in the end she had some delivered to our room. Our room was cleaned and towels changed each day during our
stay. The location was excellent as their are lots of shops, bars and restaurants in the Gaslamp district. This was our first visit to San Diego and we loved it and staying in the Gaslamp Suites was certainly the best choice we made. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We would suggest you look at their website before booking as this helps you make the right choice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#131 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $183 - $426
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing